We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western in July for 1 night. We had two rooms both on the first floor. Definitly ask for the rooms by the pool. Ours were better then my parents on the opposite side. With 3 toddlers it was nice to go out the sliding doors and be by the pool. The kids were able to run in and out of the room when they wanted to. The hotel, pool, and the whirlpool were all clean. The room did not have a refrigerator. The only thing that I believe was a little misleading coming from out of town was the advertisement for the hotel. It stated it was across the street from the mall. It isn't the Pearl Street Mall just a little mall with fast food restaurants. My mistake. Not having a car we took the bus. Not that far.
Breakfast was good and a plenty. Bagels, cereal, donughts, hard boiled eggs, toast.

Overall the place was good and if in the neighborhood would stay again.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — not walking distance to Pearl street mall
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zack728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Front Desk Manager at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2007
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We always enjoy hearing what our guests enjoy most about their stay and it is nice to know what we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable. I am passing on your comments to our staff. They will greatly appreciate that you took the time out of your day to send this message.
We apologize for any confusion concerning our location. The Boulder Inn is located directly across the street from the University of Colorado and just one mile from the 29th Street Shopping Mall. We are also within walking distance of several restaurants.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to your return.

Rachel Stevenson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    253
    104
    44
    23
See reviews for
248
163
71
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We sepend 4 nights in der Best Western Boulder Inn.
Check-In was easy and fast. Roomes were OK but nothing special. The wohle building has 2 floors. You better go for the upper floor to have your own balcony. Guests on the lower floor have their own little patio but it is acutally linked with your neigbors patio.

View of the Rocky Mountains were great, of course.
Pool was nice and clean. They have a little "Business center" where you can check your e-mails.

The reals negatice points are these:

- Breakfast: Probably one of the worst "continental breakfasts" I've ever seen. OK, we European like big breakfasts, but their continental one was a joke. Some donuts, juice, eggs and some bagels with coffee, that's it. And there are only 5 tables for so many guests!
-There was a cleaner filling the breakfast "buffet" when something went out. When there was nothing to do in the breakfast room, she cleaned the rooms nearby. So if you don't mind that your beagels were just touched by someone who cleans toiletts, you can enjoy the breakfast.

Boulder itsself is a freat place. A very young city with lots of bar, restaurants and things like that so night life should be fun!

I can recommend "BJs" Brewhouse in the center of Boulder.
You get probably the best pizza in th US there!

  • Liked — Surrounding,Location and pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank A346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Front Desk Manager at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2007
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent hotel stay at the Best Western Boulder Inn. We are disappointed you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay.
We pride ourselves on providing clean and affordable accommodations combined with great customer service. While it is unpleasant to hear negative comments, we were pleased to read you enjoyed the view from your room and the heated outdoor pool.
Thank you again for your comments. It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guests, in the hopes that we can improve both our accommodations and service.


Rachel Stevenson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin,TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We were a little hesitant to stay here after reading a few of the reviews, but had trouble finding another affordable location. We requested early arrival and were accommadated. Upon check-in, we were a little disappointed that we didn't have a room with a great view, however, the front clerk was happy to change us into a great room. We stayed at this hotel for 10 days and were extremely happy with everything. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. Although the rooms were a little small, you don't expect to spend a lot of time there so it wasn't a problem, even with two kids along. The breakfast was simple but nice. The kids loved using the pool each evening and the guest laundry was great. This hotel met our standands and then some. It's not fancy, but it doesn't come with a fancy price either. Just what our family needed.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DCWGallatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Front Desk Manager at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2007
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great comments on the Best Western Boulder Inn ! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amenities and value was everything your family needed to enjoy 10 days in beautiful Boulder.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Rachel Stevenson
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

This hotel/motel is a little smelly. There seemed to be a problem with the ventilation, as there were fans around in the halls. My daughter's allergies flared up immediatly upon arrival. The walls are thin and the hotel is very noisy. I paid for my hotel and airfare through Travelocity, but when I checked in they made me leave my credit card (used a different one from the reservation w/ Travelocity) imprint for "incidentals". When I checked out, and signed my bill, it was correctly billed with no room charges. I think the total was $22 for a room upgrade. Anyway what a shock to get my current Master Card bill with a $1788 charge for three weeks of hotel room charges, when I wasn't even in the state at that time being billed!!! Fraud. I have called the hotel three times, with no help at all. No one seems to be in charge or want to take any responsibility. Of couse, they promised to call back, but it has been an entire day and no one has returned my frantic calls. Master Card did put a dispute on this charge for me.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bubba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2007
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent hotel stay at the Best Western Boulder Inn. We are also very disappointed you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay.
We apologize if the regular carpet cleaning affected your daughter’s allergies in any way. Regarding your billing concern, we attempted to contact you at the number you left but only reached an answering machine. Again, we apologies for the mistake and we were glad we were able to get this corrected within ten hours of your initial contact.
It is always helpful to receive feedback from our guest, in the hopes that we can improve both our accommodations and service to always exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thank you again for your comments and concerns. We always appreciate our valued guest’s feedback.

Rachel Stevenson
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed at Boulder Inn for 2 nights in September 2006.
Crossroads to enter this hotel was a little bit strange, so it made us confusing.
Look carefully, and drive slowly the first time.
As check-in, the front desk staff allowed us the back room in this hotel. Then we asked for Mountain view room, and got it. The room was good.
There were some shopping centers, restaurants, and Whole Foods Market several blocks away.
We enjoyed free continental breakfast. It was very simple, but enough for us. We had complimentary USA TODAY at the breakfast room.
Staffs were very friendly. Parking was free.
Overall, OK! But next time, I would like to stay the other hotel in central Boulder if I can.

  • Liked — free continental breakfast, free parking, staff
  • Disliked — Hotel photos on the hotel website seem better than reality. Nice photos!
  • Tips/Secrets — See my CANDID PHOTOS.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rykzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

We couldn't fault this reasonably priced hotel. Rooms clean, comfortable and with balcony (ask for view of mountains and pool). Staff very friendly and helpful. Good self service breakfast. Pool always lovely and warm even in the snow at night! Two computers with internet use. Fitness centre, although not on site, only 2 minutes away, was very well equipped and definitely worth the walk

  • Liked — Balcony
  • Disliked — Road included in the view.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SallyEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Staff was rude, air conditioning didn't work, room smelled of stale smoke, free breakfast was one of the worst I've ever had at a hotel, bed was unconfortable. Do yourself a favor and stay 5 minutes up the road at the Hampton Inn, while it is not at the foot of the Rockies, you will be happier with the Hampton than this Best Western dump. The only positive thing I can say is they allowed an earlier check-in. If you review their website, it looks a whole lot nicer on the internet than it does in person. This place is a real dump, stay somewhere else if you have a choice.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else, it was a real dump.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the Hampton Inn 5 minutes up the road. Everything there was EXCELLENT.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank deerhunter713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2006
This gentleman utilized a travel agent to make his reservation with our hotel. At check-in he learned that his travel agent had made a computerized reservation for a room in which smoking is allowed. He was interested in changing room categories. It is our hotel policy to guarantee smoking preferences. We will always correct a travel agent's mistake if we have the availability to do so. Unfortunately on this night, our hotel, as well as the entire city of Boulder was sold out.

The gentleman then demanded that we put him in a non-smoking room. Doing so would have bumped someone who had made a reservation for a non-smoking room. This is not fair, and will never be our policy.

After our unwillingness to displace another guest in order to appease his request, he became very challenging. Immediately nothing in the hotel was to his satisfaction. He found fault with facilities and staff, including but not limited to our brand new Simmons Felicity 650 super-pillow top beds. After he alerted us that he was experiencing nasal blockage, we released him of the guarantee policy under which his reservation was booked.

Even in our rooms that permit smoking, we rarely have comments due to our aggressive remediation program.

It is unfortunate that the source of his frustration was lack of communication with his travel agent. It is always our intention for our guests to have a positive experience, and for us to exceed their expectations. This becomes a valuable lesson about our industry. Travel agents can be incredible assets, but it is important to accurately convey all of your needs to them. I am sure that if the travel agent had been aware of the guest’s requirement for a non-smoking room, they could have found him a room somewhere outside of Boulder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
902 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 20 in Boulder
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boulder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boulder Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Address: 770 28th St, Boulder, CO 80303-2343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Green Hotel in Boulder
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#3 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boulder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominently located directly across from the University, the Boulder Inn gives guests easy access to Boulder's principal attractions, NIST, NOAA, premier shopping, and extraordinary dining. Stylish, well-appointed rooms reflect a gracious ambiance, found throughout the hotel. During your visit to this solar powered hotel enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, free in-room high speed internet access, 40 inch flat screen TVs, 24-hour business center, and on-site fitness center. Other guest facilities include a large outdoor pool, hot tub, free bike rental, and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Boulder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boulder Hotel Boulder
Best Western Boulder Hotel
Boulder Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing