We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older building, but nicely updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Older building, but nicely updated”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I did not feel this was a 3+ star hotel. The building is like an older motel with each room having a sliding glass patio door out to the parking lot. We were disappointed there was not a restaurant or lounge on the premises. It could use some improvements with sound-proofing...we could hear our neighbors and the people above us. On the positive side, the rooms are beautifully updated and a nice size. It was very clean. The free breakfast had a large selection of items, not just pastries. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We paid $50 for one night here (did the name your own price option on Priceline), so I felt we got a decent value. I would have been disappointed if I had paid full price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaRae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your quote “the rooms are beautifully updated” was extremely kind. We know and understand that our guestroom is your home away from home. We spend a great deal of time creating a warm and inviting environment that is also modern and design conscious. The great industrial designer Dieter Rams once said “"Good design is thorough down to the last detail." It took us 31 catalogs, 28 samples, 6 purveyors, and over one year to pick out the pattern and material for our drapes. Design is such an important concept at the Boulder Inn, and we really appreciate that you noticed.

Ari Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    258
    107
    46
    23
See reviews for
256
167
72
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Still don't know exactly what "plus" means but I'll say this… We were very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, updated decore and overall very nice accommodations (especially for a BW property). Will most definitely stay there again! Very courteous service and great value given its location to CU campus and community of Boulder.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool facing West... Great view of the Flatirons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aah987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Over a year ago, Best Western International introduced tiers to our brand. The Boulder Inn was extremely honored to be designated a “Best Western Plus”. We are one of only a few in the state of Colorado. Being a “Plus” puts great pressure on us to exceed guest expectations every daily.

Thank you for noting the courteous service and close proximity to the University of Colorado. If your travel plans bring you back to Boulder, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff really is as friendly as most other reviewers mention ... they were very helpful anytime I had a question. Overall, this hotel was in a great location (though a little tricky to get to), I was happy to find the outdoor pool was heated and we could use it even at the end of September, price seemed on the high side but I think is fairly competitive with others in the area. It was fairly quiet. There was a good variety at breakfast. Rooms are 100% smoke free which is one of the first things I look for when selecting a hotel. The hotel had obviously gone through some updating, but you could still tell the building and rooms seemed fairly old. Beds and linens seemed very clean. After enough walking around on the carpet though our socks were getting dirty. One morning there was no hot water, and there was not enough room in the breakfast area. The worst issue was there was a definite musty smell in parts of our room - it seemed like it was strongest near the mini-fridge, so not sure if there had been a leak at some point in the past (I didn't complain about this smell since moving rooms with all of our stuff was going to be too big a hassle).

Anyway, despite the few things we didn't like, I've still given 4 because staff was great, it was a very convenient location, and based on just driving past some other area hotels and looking at online pricing, I'm not sure there is much else this quality or better unless you take a big jump up in cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EH7RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for calling attention to our friendly staff. This past year the Boulder Inn won an international customer service award. The Champion Award in Customer Care was presented to our General Manager by Best Western CEO David Kong in front of 3000 fellow hoteliers. The award was the culmination of years of rigorous training, and team building. We are very proud of our superior customer service.

If your travel plans bring you back to Boulder, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Visit CU regularly and was looking for a new hotel near campus. This Best Western Plus is a great deal! Excellent and friendly staff, great full complimentary breakfast, nicely-appointed rooms. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for noting our friendly staff and complimentary breakfast. This past year we added fresh Belgian waffles to the breakfast menu. They have been a big hit. Our guests recently sampled maple cinnamon, blueberry, and strawberry Belgian waffles. We will continue to offer the best quality and variety of breakfast items.

If your travel plans bring you back to Boulder, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My daughter and I were looking at colleges in the area and happened upon this hotel online and made a reservation, not knowing anything about the hotel or the area. I didn't have particularly high expectations due to the Best Western name. However, we were pleasantly surprised. It was very nice, clean, with a pool and sauna. But, best of all, the front desk staff were over-the-top helpful and friendly. They lent us bikes to ride to downtown Boulder, helped us fit helmets and make sure the bike seats were fitted for us - over and above what I would ever expect from front desk staff at a hotel. A real treat to stay in a great place in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We can equip this hotel with all of the finest amenities, but without world class employees, we are nothing. This is a point we are conscious of on a daily basis, and we appreciate you recognizing their efforts. Your positive review has been printed out and posted on the staff bulletin board for everyone to read and draw inspiration from. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this Boulder hotel while on a two week roadtrip through Colorado and New Mexico. Classy room furnishings and we really appreciated our patio that faced the pool-- with a couple of chairs it made a nice place for a drink at the end of the day. Breakfast was a pretty standard continental with some good hot options like pancakes, sausage or bacon, eggs and sausage and egg burritos (which were good and particularly hearty!) Close to the campus and US 36 but an easy drive to the Pearl Street Mall along Broadway. The MOST comfortable beds that I can remember. Would stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 125. Pros: great poolside room, secluded from highway noise. Cons: high traffic ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for saying that we have “ The MOST comfortable beds that I can remember.” The bed we selected for our rooms is the Simmons Felicity 650 pillow top, a very high end mattress normally reserved for five diamond resorts. We are so happy that you enjoyed your room.

If your travels bring you through Boulder again, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent several days earlier this month working n Boulder and stayed at the Best Western Boulder Inn. The staff was very helpful with directions and information about restaurants and places to check out. The rooms were clean and modern. They even had a TV remote cover to keep it clean. Very conveniently located and have bikes to borrow so yo can get around. The doors to the rooms slam so if you're next to someone who comes and goes a lot that can be annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for noticing our extra efforts in cleanliness. The remote control cover is an excellent example of little things that make a big difference. The Boulder Inn has recently been certified in an international cleanliness program called “Ultraclean”. We will continue to strive to provide the most immaculate hotel room possible.

If your travels bring you through Boulder again, please feel free to contact me directly.

Ari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
979 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
447 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.3 mi away
Boulder University Inn
Boulder University Inn
#8 of 23 in Boulder
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boulder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boulder Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Address: 770 28th St, Boulder, CO 80303-2343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Green Hotel in Boulder
#3 Family Hotel in Boulder
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boulder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominently located directly across from the University, the Boulder Inn gives guests easy access to Boulder's principal attractions, NIST, NOAA, premier shopping, and extraordinary dining. Stylish, well-appointed rooms reflect a gracious ambiance, found throughout the hotel. During your visit to this solar powered hotel enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, free in-room high speed internet access, 40 inch flat screen TVs, 24-hour business center, and on-site fitness center. Other guest facilities include a large outdoor pool, hot tub, free bike rental, and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boulder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boulder Hotel Boulder
Best Western Boulder Hotel
Boulder Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing