We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly customer service with good choice buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Boulder is not cheap for accommodation but this hotel provides comfort, cleanliness and a good choice for breakfast at a very competitive price. It is convenient for the university and not far from the lively centre of Boulder with its great restaurants and bars. My room had a nice view of the Rockies from the balcony. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and I did not find it at all noisy although you could hear a very slight noise of traffic from the overpass nearby but not enough to disturb your sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeteenie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 858 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were touring UC Boulder and stayed at this Inn. It's a really old motel. The walls are super thin and you can hear everything in the next room. They have redone the rooms so the bathrooms are new and the carpet and furniture too. Nice large flat screen TV's. They need to upgrade the bedding though. It's small and strange with no views of anything. If you need a cheap, clean place to stay for a night it's fine but I have no idea what the "plus" is for unless they mean breakfast. That was the best thing about the place, a very nice breakfast included in the rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We travel to Boulder twice each year and finally found the place to stay. We find that most hotels in the area fall into one of two categories; either the price is great but the hotel provides just basic accommodations or the room is plush but the price is high. The Boulder Inn has found a way to provide both a very modern comfortable room and a good price.
The Boulder Inn is located next to CU and right off 28th St making it the perfect location for work and play. While the outside of the hotel is utilitarian, the hallways and rooms have a sleek and upscale appearance. Our room was large and had everything we needed for working and for relaxing. The desk was large, the WiFi fast and the 40 inch flatscreen TV great for viewing. The king bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on and the selection of pillows, from firm to soft, was appreciated. The bath area looked to have been recently remodeled, with granite countertops, sparkling white tile in the bath and an invigorating shower head. The towels were big and fluffy. We also enjoyed the breakfast each day, which included eggs, bacon, hot and cold cereals, pastries and breads, along with yogurt, fruit, juice and very good coffee.
It is obvious that the manager and staff have gone to great lengths to create a sophisticated experience at a very good price. This is a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_M_New_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great Boulder location and the front desk is terrific for all your needs! Great Job - the rooms are a bit older but clean and comfortable. For a quick stay in this Area- it was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on the road leading to RMNP. The room was an average motel room, but the breakfast was quite good. In fact, during breakfast, our kids received special kids' pack of snacks which was a nice touch.

However, upon checking in, we were told that we would be charge extra for a room with 2 double beds when in fact, they had the information that there were 4 of us. The reception staff claimed that it's a fault of Hotwire through whom we booked it. However, it still left a unpleasant feeling...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

I’m glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel’s amenities. We pride ourselves in customer service. This week we added fresh made Belgian waffles to the breakfast choices. I hope the next time you are in Boulder, you will again choose us as your host.

I understand that you may have alerted Hotwire that there would be four people in your room. On your behalf, Hotwire purchased from us a room with one king bed. Opaque third party booking engines such as Priceline and Hotwire do not guarantee bed type. They book the least expensive room available, regardless.

Whether booking at our hotel or others, I always recommend making reservations with the hotel directly; especially if specific bed types are important to your travel plans.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations! The room was large, very clean and had plenty of storage space. The bed was very comfortable and had an array of pillows of differing firmness so I found one exactly to my liking. The shower had a great shower head with good water pressure, lots of hot water and a curved rod. The shower/WC room had a very efficient fan. The sink was outside the main bathroom enabling one person to shower while the other shaved or did makeup.

The hairdryer worked well (no cold shot button, but very lightweight). There was also an iron + ironing board, a coffee maker and an alarm clock. The TV was the biggest, most modern flat screen I've ever seen in a hotel room. Also, the free WIFI internet connection was super fast. There was a desk chair with adjustable height so you could be comfortable typing.

The free breakfast had many excellent choices, including egg, bacon or sausage, pancakes or french toast, cereal, yogurt, bagels, pastries, peanut butter, fruit. I am hypoglycemic, so was especially appreciative of the offerings. Seating is limited but pleasant with a little fireplace and TV. Also Maura, the breakfast lady, does a great job keeping everything stocked.

The only thing I would change to make this hotel perfect, is to upgrade the bed covers. In this day and age of duvets, they still use bedspreads which have seen better days. For sanitary reasons and to improve the room appearance (the covers are avocado green) they really need to get rid of them.

Also, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, the heating system is rather noisy when the fan cycles on. It will wake you if you are a light sleeper.

I would also like to have an in-room safe for valuables. The hotel does offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk, but it would have been nice to have a place to secure my laptop, etc. when I was out of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, and your incredibly in-depth review. We spend such time and energy micro-managing the small details. It is rewarding when all of our efforts are recognized. We printed out your review for the entire staff to read. It is important for them to understand how much the customer actually sees during a stay. Thank you.

Please let me know the next time you are coming to town. I am happy to help facilitate your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stay three night and every thing was perfect except the heating system I had to disconnect to be able to sleep. It was very cold outside and nights were quite cold in my room. Otherwise, the hotel is very good and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: bring your ear balls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderInn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Boulder Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thank you for noticing the extreme cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeeping staff has chosen to participate in extra training in order to go above and beyond what most people expect.
We took your review very seriously. After investigating, we were were able to recreate and fix the noise you experienced. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. The next time you choose to stay at our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly. I am happy to help facilitate your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.3 mi away
Boulder University Inn
Boulder University Inn
#7 of 23 in Boulder
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#14 of 23 in Boulder
465 reviews
1 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Boulder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Boulder Inn

Address: 770 28th St, Boulder, CO 80303-2343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Green Hotel in Boulder
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#3 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: $118 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Boulder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominently located directly across from the University, the Boulder Inn gives guests easy access to Boulder's principal attractions, NIST, NOAA, premier shopping, and extraordinary dining. Stylish, well-appointed rooms reflect a gracious ambiance, found throughout the hotel. During your visit to this solar powered hotel enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, free in-room high speed internet access, 40 inch flat screen TVs, 24-hour business center, and on-site fitness center. Other guest facilities include a large outdoor pool, hot tub, free bike rental, and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Boulder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boulder Hotel Boulder
Best Western Boulder Hotel
Boulder Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing