We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Dinner”
Review of Volta Mediterranean Restaurant - CLOSED

Volta Mediterranean Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: @ The Village Shopping Center
Transit: RTD stop on Canyon Boulevard right next to our building.
Description: Volta means a "turn" or "journey." Opened in late 2013, Volta offers New Greek Cuisine featuring a "best in class" approach to this bountiful Mediterranean region. From street food and taverna favorites to Michelin star quality dishes, Volta interprets the many vibrant flavors of Greece through the sustainable lens of farm to table, non-GMO and fair trade practices. Volta is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, a friendly dinner or business gathering. Our elegant dining room, bar and patio can accommodate parties of 1 to 101. We offer you seasonal and soulful Greek and Mediterranean food, wine and service in a beautiful and inviting setting. Take a tasteful turn in Greek Cuisine.
Boulder
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our second time at Volta and again we had a very good dining experience. This time we had a special wine pairing "Moon" (as they call it) Greek dinner. Although we knew they have Greek dishes on Sunday nights, we were not sure how good the Greek wines would be. It turned out all five wines were excellent. The owner came to serve each wine explaining where it was from and saying a bit about the vineyard and type of grape. The dishes were also all very good and of adequate sized portions for us. Some might, however, find the amount of each dish to be small so I am just putting forth this warning for such people. Overall it was a very enjoyable dinner. Service was very good but the restaurant was fairly empty so that may have made it easy to serve the numbers there. We will certainly go back again for another dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh, unique, stylish and creative.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You will get fabulous service and great food at this new restaurant. The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Great place for a date or a classy cocktail at the bar. Try the beets, arugula salad, lamb sausage and chicken. Great wine list, you will not see the same wines elsewhere. You won't be disappointed! Go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denouek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for a business lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with a few coworkers. Had the falafel sandwich with a small salad. Service was great and food was drained well. Would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank TAreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service, interesting food, wonderful wine”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us spent New Year's Eve at Volta and enjoyed the set price menu with wine pairings. I was a bit disappointed in the beet salad as I had to search for the small portion of beets under a mound of arugula but my dining companions loved the roasted cauliflower soup, and the special mushroom dish. The vegetable gnocchi was interesting and delicious. The lamb prepared in two ways was tasty and a perfect choice for a winter's evening. One of the diners had the fish special and found it to be a delicious and generous portion. The wine pairings were well done and a good variety. There was not one disappointment with the wines. The desserts and with the wine pairings were perfect. I want to go back and try this again.
Volta also had live music during the evening which was a very nice touch - everything seemed a bit more festive. The servers were all pleasant and able to answer our questions.
Give Volta a try - the menu is not large but offers some new twists on standard dishes. Everything offered is not Greek but there is definitely a Mediterranean flavor. The wines available have not disappointed us yet.
The price for NYE with the wine pairings seemed like an incredible value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Spanakopita in Colorado”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This restaurant continues to surprise and delight me & everyone who has accompanied me. The spanakopita is the best I've ever had and I've eaten a lot of it. It comes with a very small salad and two extra-large wedges of flaky, buttering but not soggy spanakopita. The chef's take on calamari is quite a detour with green olives and a little chili heat, soft and succulent. The cocktails are innovative and refined - David does an amazing job with the mixology. Nice wine list, free and easy parking, not too loud(how refreshing in Boulder), great happy hour and lovely service complete the package.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volta Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing