We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
189
49
19
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
49
19
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meditation room cookies charming b b tea selection the main house carriage house granola red cloud organic breakfast zen center filtered water pearl street private bath fellow guests minute walk peaceful stay these folks
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 271 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This inn seemed better on paper than in reality. Room was really small and dark. Owner was there only on weekend, and left the inn to his young, inexperienced staff all week. People raved about the breakfasts, but having "inn'd" in many places, we were not particularly impressed. It's summer, and the fruit salad was boring. How the heck can you make a fruit salad boring? The literature said "egg dish daily," but this merely meant scrambled eggs, with or without veggies and/or cheese, daily. The menus @ the inn were extremely outdated, leading to some unanticipated rather expensive dinners when we based our selection on these menues and prices. Proprietors didn't seem to know a lot of information, and gave very vague directions to sights and places. Well situated. All in all, I would not go back.

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewYorkNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

summary: restful, pleasant stay, would stay here again
stayed during a less-busy period, the Briar Rose is booked solid especially during the warmer months, so plan your stay accordingly. a couple of their rooms will soon be under renovation, so make sure to check with their staff and/or the host.
we stayed in one of the lower-level small rooms in the coach house, next to the main house. it was very quiet, a very comfortable bed. full, private bath, but really small and had to 'dance' around my companion for us to get ready in the morning. I really appreciated the full-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body gel, body lotion, and hair dryer in the room.
the owner was away for a conference or seminar, so we only dealt with the staff who were very pleasant and tried very much to make our stay enjoyable. the breakfast was delicious and mainly consisted of an egg dish, toast, the homemade granola, homemade breakfast bread, two kinds of preserves, tea from their varied selection, and yogurt. the fresh homemade cookies in the afternoon were very, very good. they even let us take some cookies for the road, when we checked out.

Date of stay: March 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jai_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

When we arrived the innkeeper was busy with other things so we were rushed to the kitchen and given a very quick welcome about the Inn. We were then sent on our way to our room which was small but clean and nicely furnished in a building next to the main house. We felt rather unwelcomed into the main inn so left to explore the neighborhood which was urban but not appealing. We walked to a nearby restaurant recommended in a leaflet in our room which was very expensive, waited over 40 minutes for our food and the steak was not good and the fish uninspired. Breakfast the next morning on the tiny patio at the foot of the stairs of the building our room was in was delicious. We were, however, glad to get away. IT was the least fun B&Bg on our weeklong Colorado journey, but probably ok for travelling students.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Terrific B&B. Good location. Great food. Charming rooms. Make sure to get the granola recipe -- can't be beat! Delightful innkeeper and staff. Would definitely return to Boulder & Briar Rose.

Date of stay: June 2006
4  Thank RamblinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

My partner and I are both innkeepers in Bar Harbor, ME (Moseley Cottage) and we went to Boulder for a winter vacation. Gary and Jordan run a relaxing and comfortable inn that manages to be luxurious and low-key at the same time. They will serve you tea anytime of day and are more than glad to help you plan your days in Boulder. Breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. We felt immediately at home here and looked forward to returning to the inn at the end of day as much as we looked forward to skiing or hiking or strolling through town. This is a top-notch B&B and we recommend a stay here wholeheartedly!

Date of stay: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cromalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews