We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
189
49
19
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
49
19
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meditation room cookies charming b b tea selection the main house carriage house granola red cloud organic breakfast zen center filtered water pearl street private bath fellow guests minute walk peaceful stay these folks
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 271 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Full of charm, this B&B delivers a genuine opportunity to embrace new friendships. Having spent a total of several months at the Briar over many trips in the last year, I've had the opportunity to experience a range of weathers, chefs, and rooms. Tea at any time, customized meals, and exemplary service from a devoted staff ensure that your needs will be met; if there's anything you need, just ask. The owners' consistent reinvestment in the building, and devotion to a long future are evident in the care exhibited in all activities.

My travels to Boulder are always work-related, and inherently solitary in nature; thus I always enjoy meeting fellow house-guests. I've discovered the Briar Rose to be a popular destination with the International scientific community, where conversations about Saturn's Moons, airborne particulates, electric cars, or modern european architecture occur over an aptly named "Waffle Wednesday" breakfast. -Like most things in life, your experience at the Briar Rose is what you make of it, indulge!

Room tip: Every room is unique, check out their website to learn about each one; call when making your reservation to inquire further about a room's character.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We only stayed here a night, but it was such a welcome sight after a long flight from London! What do they do the duvets to get them so fluffy? I have never seen anything like it.

It's a lovely relaxed place, very much someone's home, with books and paintings and so on. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was wonderful and our fellow guests also delightful. I could happily have stayed much longer, and if we go back, we may well do just that.

And finally, I know this is very British of me, but pot of tea that they made us was absolutely wonderful. It's rare to get a really great cup of tea in a hotel in the US, but this was superb. As good as I've ever had and supremely welcome after a long trip. They know their teas!

Room tip: We stayed in the Antero room which had a log fire and a separate sitting area - lovely
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meleze74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I pay attention to the details. I was pleased to know that the briar rose does so as well. They are genuine, and are not trying to be anyone other than who they are. I really enjoyed hanging out with the staff. The fresh flowers are lovely. The tea is lovely. And the location (right across the street from naropa) Is lovely

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magicfeet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great Bed and Breakfast. It really is more of an inn, than a B&B. There are staff members present in the home. The room was very comfortable, quiet, and peaceful. There are plenty of sweet breads to eat, along with tea, that can be obtained any time of day. We stayed in the red cloud room.

The staff members are extremely friendly and helpful. The location provides easy walking access to downtown Boulder.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. The homemade granola can't be beat, and you will not walk away from breakfast hungry. This was a great experience. Would definitely go back.

Room tip: Try to obtain a room with attached bathroom.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LostNotFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This certainly didn't live up to it's reputation or advertisements and is situated on a noisy road. We arrived late, so a key was left for us which we didn't have a problem with but the directions to find the bathroom that went with our room was a different matter! We found a broom cupboard, someone else's room but it turned out to be a door marked 'private', which was the last one we tried although would have known had the note said that. Breakfast was disappointing, the fresh fruit salad looked very sorry for itself and seemed sparse, and there was no choice; at one point we had to clear space for someone to sit down. We had pancakes one day that were very heavy and stodgy. It seemed to be run by students, but by day three the lad serving looked in need of a wash and change of clothes. Information about the locality was non-existant, we chanced upon some kind of green fair; which could have been mentioned on the board or leaflets made available.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews