We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the nightly desserts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Boulder B&B and Inns
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the nightly desserts!”
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We wanted a getaway for the weekend where we wouldn't have to drive foreever. This was it! When we checked in, we were offered large freshly baked cookies and ice tea. We were shown to our room...large with mission style furniture. A whirpool tub for two,large stone fireplace. Open french doors..with colored glass panes ..onto a lovely patio. Breakfast was wonderfull. We had the non traditional french toast with peacan sauce.(my husband had the fresh berry sauce.) The owners were so friendly ..even dug up a plant for us to take home.

  • Liked — comfortable bed,historic style furniture
  • Disliked — not sure
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTravelizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    15
    16
    9
See reviews for
15
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

The Alps Inn was absolutely one of the nicest getaway lodges my husband and I have experienced. The furnishings are gorgeous, the location is perfect, and the owners and employees are wonderful. The complimentary breakfast was the highlight of our day--we really looked forward to seeing what was on the menu every morning, and it was always a treat. Great way to start the day in front of the fireplace with a coffee! I would highly recommend the Alps Inn to those looking for a rustic, yet elegant retreat, where you are treated with warm hospitality. This is not an ultra-refined hotel--some aspects are outdated (blinds in room), however it blends with the feel of the Inn.

  • Liked — Furnishings, service, complimentary breakfast, over all "feel"
  • Disliked — the blinds in the room, the surroundings outside the lodge (a lot of trash)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EEMBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

After a brief stop for lunch at the ultra-swank and expensive Julien, we drove up the magntificent Boulder Canyon Drive to the Alps. At first glance, it was "uh-oh?". Once inside, we found its wonders. For the past 16 years, a family has been rescueing The Alps Inn from the wreckers ball. Having experienced a similar situtation with the great camps Uncas and Sagamore in the Adirondocks, we appreciated the speed at which he owners were working to preserve the authenticity of the inn without having the big bucks of the Pritzgers to complete an overnite makeover. So what did we find. First, service that you can't find anywhere. Sure, no uniformed bell folks, but every staff member ready to lug the bags and make us comfortable in our historic rooms. We learned the history fast. The Alps started at the beginning of the 19th century on the original toll road as a stage coach cabin. The original log section all preserved gave way to a bordello well into the mid-2th century before it was expanded and became a Moose Lodge. Today it has two giant winds with 12 big rooms, most of which have a jacuzzi or an ancient claw footed tub, separate showers, fireplaces with antique, carved cast iron stoves inserted in a carved wood base. These and all the antiques in Arts and Crafts or Victorian vintage fill every room with a comfortable bed and hand made quilts. After a great night's sleep, it was the best breakfast ever served in the newly renovated dining hall. (Also used for tea and giant homemade chocolate chip cookies and other deserts in the evening), On the third AM we woke to 12 inches of beautiful snow coaing all except the already plowed highway.
Like the great camps, the Alps renovations were ongoing, not just to replace what was worn, but to restore to historic import. Outside, the cold weather had stopped the construction of the stagecoach pathway and other renovation projects that would have to wait for the next spring. The Alps is more than another b and b. It is a historic renovation that is comfortable, where strangers are welcomed into its homey atmosphere and where a taste of old Colorado is being reborn. Best quick words: clean, warm, full of stories, comfortable and homey. Not sleek and superficial.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed in the "Sugarloaf" room the night of our wedding. While the location and facility are beautiful in a historic mountain lodge sort of way, some upkeep could be done to the grounds surrounding the facility. Directly east of the building is a large area that the owners seem to use a "junkyard", piled with building materials, equipment, and junk strewn around in an untidy fashion. This area is in close proximity to the patio area that adjoins the rooms.

The carpeting in the room was quite dirty, the blinds were dirty and unfunctional. The cordless phone in the room did not work at all, which is a major problem since cell service does not exist in the canyon. The hairdryer in the bathroom also did not work, which can be a disaster for the ladies.

The jacuzzi tub was a major selling point of the room, but the jets did not work at all, turning it into a glorified bathtub, a major disapointment. The walls in the building are ridiculously thin, making normal conversation from the next room clearly audible until 3am. I must point out the people next door were not being loud, simply talking. The walls made it so that we could not help but hear every word they said, keeping us awake much later than we would have liked.

When all this was brought to the attention of the owner the next morning, her attitude was more one of annoyance than concern.

We will not be going back to the Alps, and would not recomend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Historic nature of the building
  • Disliked — Non-functional jacuzzi tub
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid at all costs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We had an excellent stay. The owner and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with local and National Park recommendations. They were perfect hosts in that they were there when we needed them yet they were not overbearing and gave us plenty of privacy. They upgraded us to a room with jacuzzi which was great. The room was very nice, tastefully decorated in the arts and crafts style. The afternoon refreshments, evening desserts, and breakfast were all excellent!! They have a great front porch with hummingbird feeders that were constantly buzzing with visits from Broad-Tailed hummers. Yes there are "stuffed" animals in the lobby and public areas, many of which are visible in the photo album on their website. No doubt these are all in keeping with the history of the inn which was at one time a stage coach stop, then operated by a fish & game club, and then a Moose Lodge.
I would absolutely stay there again and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendly service, interesting atmosphere, great food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Room was in need of many repairs...towels had holes, shower curtain did not stay up, shades in windows were soiled and not working properly, shower hose in bathtub was cracked and did not work.

One of the owners/manager was rude to me at breakfast.

Finally, a warning: if you do not like to see dead animal heads plastered all over the walls, don't stay here. It was disgusting.

  • Liked — Not much.
  • Disliked — The dead animals on the walls.
  • Tips/Secrets — There must be better places to stay in Boulder.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

The hotel was in the most perfect location for us. We were able to enjoy Boulder while enjoying the outdoors at the same time. The owners helped us plan many hikes and a couple of getaways to Estes Park and the Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP). They will help you plan any activities you are looking to do too. They are very, very accomdating and always set aside time to take care of us (even if we set off the fire alarm at 4AM). The breakfast they serve should not be missed. The rooms are so comfortable. You have music that is linked to your room and you can adjust to any level, as well as fireplaces that make you feel right at home. In the lobby, there is always something to nibble on and refreshments. There is an amzaing restaurant down the street that has a full menu of specialities. While in Boulder, some of the best tourist activities that we recommend are Estes Park, RMNP, Pearl Street Mall, Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse, Celestial Seasonings, Mountain Sun Brewery, Pasta Jay's, Chautauqua Park, the Mediterranean at happy hour for tapas, finding a rooftop bar for the view, and checking out the Absinthe specials. My number one recommendation though is to stay at the Alps Boulder Canyon Inn. It can't be beat.

  • Liked — It including everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy your time to the fullest.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank michfandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
979 reviews
2.2 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
937 reviews
3.0 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
3.4 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 23 in Boulder
447 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alps Boulder Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alps Boulder Canyon Inn

Property: Alps Boulder Canyon Inn
Address: 38619 Boulder Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302-9654
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alps Boulder Canyon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alps Boulder Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alps Boulder Canyon Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing