We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome tavern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West End Tavern

The West End Tavern
Ranked #36 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The West End Tavern has been Boulder's favorite spot for cold beer and good eats since 1987. The Tavern brings you a menu of delicious home-style American cuisine, while the West End bar is THE local authority on boozy goodness. Pull up your favorite stool or cozy into the best booth and find out what's good.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
631 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Awesome tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop in for a beer. They have a ton of brews on tap to please most everyone.

This is a great place to relax after strolling around Pearl Street. Great decor and decent staff.

The food is darn good for tavern fare as well.

Helpful?
Thank 8ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana K, Manager at The West End Tavern, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we hope you'll stop in again soon for some brews and BBQ.

Best Regards,

Alana from the West End Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    71
    31
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Showed up at 9:30 pm on a weeknight off a plane from Eugene. Close to the trendy and lively Pearl area.
Atmosphere here is warm and woody with a cozy little stove burning. I was told there are upstairs and roof areas that I did not explore.
Really good Taps. Mostly Colorado beers but good other choices . The bartender was knowledgeable and friendly about the beer and the area. I had the Hop 15 from Port Brewing. Wow. Excellent. ABV: 9.7% IBU: 90
after two of these, it was time to eat. " Julio's vegetarian burger" made with chick peas, lentils, spinach & oats with tomato jam and haystack mountain chèvre on a potato bun. The fries were very very good. The burger was not my fave. a texture thing. The homemade bread and butter pickles were awesome.
Cool little friendly place wth an interesting menu

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriS372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana K, Manager at The West End Tavern, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you Teri for another great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just the ticket after a long days travel.
Warm welcome, great views of the Flat Irons from the roof top...good beer and well cooked food.
Could not have asked for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorCiganin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana K, Manager at The West End Tavern, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Trevor-

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to see that you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again next time you are in Boulder.

Best Regards,

Alana at The West End Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best wings I've ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

After seeing their wings featured on Man Vs Food, I've been eagerly anticipating trying them. I've had wings all over the country and these are by far the best I've had. If you love wings, you must try them here!!! Great food, friendly, fast and courteous staff all made for a great time!!

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana K, Manager at The West End Tavern, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hey David,

We just wanted thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and we are glad you loved the wings! If you are back in Boulder and you need your wing fix you'll really love our happy hour when our wings are half-off (M-F 3-6pm, Th-Sat 10-11pm) awesome right?

Thanks again David, we hope to see you soon!

- Alana (The West End Tavern)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
230 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

A friend and I came here on a Wednesday during happy hour (before 6). They had $4 glasses of chardonnay, and a variety of little appetizers on their happy hour menu. The appetizers weren't very big though; for instance, we had a chicken and waffles slider for $4, and it only came with a single one. We both ordered basic sandwiches for ~$11 per person. The food was good, as was the wine. The atmosphere was nice, as it was a little dark and pub-like, but nice looking and not loud. There were lots of people there. We sat a long time, but never felt rushes or pressured to leave. It was really a very fun social place. We sat inside in a booth (very nice and big) by the bar on the main level, so I can't comment on the rooftop. Overall, I would come here again for lunch or drinks with colleagues or friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kingshimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West End Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The West End Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing