We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowded tables.. creative food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Frasca Food & Wine

Frasca Food & Wine
Reserve with OpenTable
Frasca Food & Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 572 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Crowded tables.. creative food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The food is fresh and meticulously prepared. The atmosphere reminds me of being crammed into coach seating on a United Airlines flight to Washington Dulles airport. Tables are very close together and not very comfortable for a 2 to 3 hour meal. Service was very good but overall experience was noisy and a little overpriced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank skygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    47
    37
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Date Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went to Frasca for our first year anniversary and were very pleased we did. We have heard nothing but rave reviews about this place and can confirm them to all be true. The only draw back was we went on a Monday which is a set menu across the board for everyone. We typically try to share and sample as many different items on the menu as possible which obviously we could not do with the set menu. Regardless, the food, service and atmosphere were all impeccable. There are a ton of fabulous restaurants in Boulder, but this one is definitely towards the top of the list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spend it elsewhere...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dinner for 2 with a nice wine, and gratuity, was around $400. For this price range, the most successful offering had best not be the bread and butter. Most courses were ill-conceived and poorly executed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Scratch and Sniff Wine Education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It may sound comical but Master Sommelier Richard Betts has published a scratch and sniff book on wine in the hope of educating the reader "to wine's basic components - the fruit, the wood, the earth, and the other.' Frasca recently hosted an event dinner featuring the book and courses paired with exemplary wines. Betts made himself available to diners throughout the evening and stopped by our table just as the pasta course appeared. One of the 'tools' included in the book is a wine wheel chart to help you navigate your preferences. Betts walked us through our pasta wine pairings and helped us sort out our component preferences. He also mentioned that a wine wheel app is in the works and should be available early next year. I can see how helpful that would be in discerning lengthy restaurant wine menus.
Meanwhile, Frasca lived up to its reputation by serving fresh, local ingredients with an artistic twist. Most memorable was tucking into the primo course squash ravioli to find a perfect egg yolk which when broken spread its golden yolk throughout the pasta sauce creating rich, flavorful bites of creaminess. The secondo main course of lamb was served three ways - roasted, grilled, and as sausage - and was heavenly perfection although we found the sausage to be a little on the salty side. Dessert's dolce course was a chocolate/Frangelico/raspberry/mascarpone tart that ensured the evening ended on a note filled with sweet dreams.
Frasca is truly a treat for special occasions, or in this instance, a special guest author event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayN598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Frasca is a wonderful dining experience. This is Northern Italian food at it's best, but you have to be willing to pay for it. A 5 course Price Fixe meal with wine pairings for all courses, runs about $290, with tip. My wife and I try to eat there once per year, and we have never been disappointed. The decor, service, wine list and food are all exceptional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frasca Food & Wine also viewed

 

Been to Frasca Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing