We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

As with so many of my reviews this one is tricky because it is a bit mixed.

To start, check in was delightful and the person who helped us was wonderful. She found a room for us on the 4th (top) floor and found us better rates by using AAA —we were staying 6 nights so this helped. In addition, the bell staff, car attendants, bar servers, and virtually all the staff were amazing, helpful and pleasant.

The basic rooms are quite small but nice and totally functional. The windows open, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom, while only having one sink, has a separate tub and glass enclosed shower. The TV while large enough, does not have an over-abundance of channels.

The valet parking is the least expensive parking to be found in Boulder —-albeit still somewhat expensive at $20 a night.

On the downside, the housekeeping staff seemed to be iffy at best —our linens were not changed when that was requested, our coffee was not always replaced, and the room just never seemed totally tidied. But in the context of all that was good about this hotel, it was not a significant issue for us.

One of the nice amenities of the St. Julien is the very large lobby which also serves as a bar and gathering place as the actual bar is quite small. Unfortunately, on several of the days we were there the lobby was used for private functions and the bar was completely jammed with people requiring us to go elsewhere for a drink. One night when we were meeting our friends who live in Boulder, I was able to snag seats just as others left, but that was pure luck. In addition, on at least one of the nights we were there the restaurant was closed for a private party — I’m just glad it was not raining, although it was lightly snowing as we walked to have supper at Oak.

Bunch on Sunday was a very good value. We had great service and a lovely table. Jill’s restaurant is a pretty room and they used it well to set up the buffet. The buffet includes champagne, bloody Mary and mimosa and, while the spread is not quite as varied as it might be, it is more than sufficient with a nice range of eggs, seafood, meat, fruit, sweets etc.

Lastly, the location is terrific enabling us to walk everywhere during our stay. We would definitely recommend the St. Julien and we will return the next time we’re in Boulder.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The location can't be beat: downtown and quiet. We had a top floor corner suite. Two rooms, very comfortable and large. All rooms have 4-poster beds. Bathroom ammenities are good. Breakfast selections (Cali Muffins to Huervos Rancheros to in-house patries) are delicious - a great breakfast not to be missed. The hotel's spa (at least what our room key allowed) has a double hot tub with waterfall and a large pool. The hot tub is temperature hot and going back into the pool is like sauna to lake. Service, front desk and valet, are first class. The hotel hosted a number of parties during our stay, and the revelry was limited to the common area not filtering to the rooms. The balcony in the suite was small. If you want a large balcony over rooms size, go for the terrace rooms. If luxury and comfort are your requirements, this is Boulder's best choice.

Room Tip: If you want a large baclony - terrace room. If you want a large room the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The St Julien is just a lovely hotel for Boulder. The rooms are comfy, bathrooms are handsome (both shower and tub rock), nice views of the Flatirons, and on a cold winter night, there's no need to leave the hotel--great happy hour, gorgeous and huge indoor hot tub, live music in the lobby, and Jillian's for dinner. But if you do want to brave the cold, you are right in the heart of downtown Boulder. Restaurants, bars, and shops galore, or walk to the farmer's market, creek trail, and hiking. A perfect location. Good spa and masseuses as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMightyQuint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love this hotel. I travel to Boulder for business quite often and have made it a habit of staying at the St. Julien. The staff is always very helpful with directions, dinner reservations, deliveries and anything else that i need. I love the decor in the rooms and they are always clean and fresh. I adore the bathrooms, especially the large tub. I look forward to using the complementary slippers, bath salts and loofah. I think it is worth every penny every time.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I Stayed at the St. Julien last weekend. The hotel was overbooked with outside events the entire weekend, I was unable to eat at the restaurant both nights due to private events. Lunch Friday was moved to the overfilled lobby due to the setting up of the restaurant for the private restaurant event taking place that night. When I arrived back at the hotel after eating outside of the hotel, a bus was unloading party people to the hotel lobby to watch the a band playing in the lobby. The band was too loud and large for a lobby that size. The very efficient car valet staff was overwhelmed with all of the visiting guests that hotel guests would have long waits for their cars. I left the hotel on Sunday around 11:00 am. The entire hotel lobby was set up for a tea that would be taking place two times that day. It is obvious that hotel patrons are less important than outside guests. On a positive note, hotel staff are helpful and the spa is lovely. The rooms are very nice. As they should be for a hotel that charges top prices.

Room Tip: If you have a room that has a mountain view, make sure it totally faces the mountain. My room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Ann M,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and Spa at St Julien on your recent visit, and that you found the St Julien Hotel & Spa staff to be helpful. I apologize for the challenges you faced as a result of the busy holiday season. As you may expect, we typically host a far greater number of local guests during the months of November and December, in addition to out of town guests, for holiday parties and other events. We hope you will return to St Julien Hotel & Spa, and you'll see that your experience is not typical year-round.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the St. Julien on our last night in Colorado and it was perfect. Beautiful hotel and facilities. Hopefully the next visit we will actually have time to use the pool, sauna and spa -- all of which look amazing. The bed was ultra-comfortable and the cleanest hotel we've ever visited. Expect to pay but it's a wonderful splurge if you want to treat yourself to a special hotel in a special city. Brasserie Ten Ten restaurant is wonderful and just across the street. Everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear M M,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa.
We strive to provide a guest experience that is luxurious on every level,
and I'm pleased to hear we delivered such for you. We hope you will
return to St Julien Hotel & Spa during your next trip to Boulder, and
will have time to experience our pool, sauna and spa then.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Close to Pearl Street. Dining and fun shopping all around hotel. Hotel service impeccable from the valets, front desk, concierge, housekeeping, everyone is helpful. Lovely rooms with terrific views. Corner room with windows had terrific view. Spacious bathrooms. Nice down comforters and good linens.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Debbi D,

We appreciate you sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel &
Spa. I am pleased your accommodations were to your liking and am happy to
hear all members of our staff were helpful, and able to assist with your
needs. We hope to have you as our guest again the next time you visit
Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#16 of 23 in Boulder
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#13 of 23 in Boulder
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: $348 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing