We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wish we could've stayed longer!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wish we could've stayed longer!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here for a night during our trip across Colorado. Compared to the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, I thought this was a much better value for the money! The hotel is in a great location, very close to pearl street. Staff were extremely friendly, and we got to see fireworks at two different places from our hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Milla3131,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa for your recent visit to Boulder. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel's central location, as well as its views, and most importantly, the team at St Julien. We hope you'll return to the hotel again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    160
    45
    23
    26
See reviews for
181
272
47
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Expensive but excellent service. Room met but did not exceed expectations. Some road noise. Very attentive staff. Very accessible to Pearl street restaurants. Enjoyed lunch at Jill's. the free bikes were very basic and challenging to use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ksg2013,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received during your visit, as well as your lunch at Jill’s Restaurant, and the hotel's prime location near Pearl Street. I hope you'll stay with us again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After the debacle of the Stanley Hotel in Estes the St Julien was "our kinda hotel" At the same price for a far superior establishment!!. Service was classy and all connections proud of what the hotel is about. Boulder Co is certainly worth visiting and more so if you choose the St Julien. We will recommend Boulder and the St Julien over Denver and Browns Palace and spa any time .

Room Tip: Just book Street side could be noisy but curtains windows etc all world class
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear graham e,

Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay in Boulder, and that St Julien exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The St. Julien is in the heart of Boulder. It is a quiet retreat in a convenient location to shops, restaurants and businesses. Their food is great and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful. This is a luxury hotel with comfortable rooms and a nice overall atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a quiet corner room on the 3rd floor with great views of the mountains. Be specific in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for your kind words regarding St Julien Hotel & Spa’s cuisine, team, location and accommodations. I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your stay with us, and am happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at St. Julien and I'm happy to say that the hotel continues to provide 5-star quality services. The check-in and check-out processes were flawless. Mornings started off great, compliments of the incredible breakfast served at Jill's. I took advantage of the breakfast package which provided for a $40 credit for only an additional $15. Nothing says awesome like waffles, fresh fruit, coffee, and a mimosa to kick off the day! Kristen and Nick provided exceptional service.

The bars were pretty quiet and uneventful for happy hour, but I enjoyed conversation with Brianna, and it's hard to argue with half off food and drink, especially when you can get a quality IPA and sandwich for cheap. My friends - who live miles from the hotel - agreed with that assessment. I didn't utilize all of the spa services but the massage impressed yet again. The one area for improvement - some of the linens and towels were worn and marked and could use replacement. I was surprised to run into that issue on more than one occasion, especially when everything else was just about perfect.

Bottom line - I hope to continue making annual trips to St. Julien!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACE44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ACE44444,

Thank you for your continued patronage of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your spa and dining experiences at the hotel, and will share your compliments with Kristen, Nick and Brianna directly. We look forward to your return next year.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benediktbeuern, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are many reviews for this location, which I dont normally comment on - we enjoyed our expensive stay in the St Julien. The rooms are very average for mattress comfort and size. The bathroom is very large with a walk-in shower and separate toilet closet. The bathroom linens were changed once a day, but the bed linens were not and only sprayed profusely with a floral perfume. It was so intense that we had to ask housekeeping for a new duvet. In my opinion, air/linen fragrance should be used by the current hotel guest of their own choice and not by housekeeping. Happy hour is mediocre, still expensive, venture to the other restaurants near by for better options - the Med next door has expanded greatly.

We ate breakfast at the hotel, while not included with our room, and the selection was good and tasty. This would be a nice step forward to include breakfast in the price, such as the finer hotels in Europe. While there are plenty of restaurants in the near vicinity, there are no decent breakfast restaurants, cafes or bakeries. Boulder has tried but they never survive - the closest is Lucille's. Unfortunately Mo's Bagels locations are much further.

Finally the spa is really the best thing about the St Julien, and all the locals know this. Facials, massages, everything is great here - the service and the facilities are all truly worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieReiselust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear dieReiselust,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa on your recent visit to Boulder. I'm pleased you enjoyed Spa at St Julien and your breakfast at Jill's. Per the hotel’s Green Initiative, St Julien Hotel & Spa utilizes a “Green Card” in guest rooms, which explains the hotel’s policy not to change bed linens daily, unless guests place the card on the bed. We're always happy to accommodate a request such as a fresh duvet, and are glad you allowed us to do so when you did not find it to your satisfaction. We hope to have the chance to host you should you return to Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We live here but when we want to get away for the night, this is the place. Excellent service, beautiful rooms, and perfect location--downtown but right at the foothils. you can walk to many nearby restaurants and Pearl Street walking mall is 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lyndel1374,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit, and for making St Julien Hotel & Spa your in-town getaway. We're pleased that you enjoy the hotel's accommodations, service and location, and hope to have you as guests for years to come.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#16 of 19 in Boulder
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing