We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Boulder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Benediktbeuern, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Boulder”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are many reviews for this location, which I dont normally comment on - we enjoyed our expensive stay in the St Julien. The rooms are very average for mattress comfort and size. The bathroom is very large with a walk-in shower and separate toilet closet. The bathroom linens were changed once a day, but the bed linens were not and only sprayed profusely with a floral perfume. It was so intense that we had to ask housekeeping for a new duvet. In my opinion, air/linen fragrance should be used by the current hotel guest of their own choice and not by housekeeping. Happy hour is mediocre, still expensive, venture to the other restaurants near by for better options - the Med next door has expanded greatly.

We ate breakfast at the hotel, while not included with our room, and the selection was good and tasty. This would be a nice step forward to include breakfast in the price, such as the finer hotels in Europe. While there are plenty of restaurants in the near vicinity, there are no decent breakfast restaurants, cafes or bakeries. Boulder has tried but they never survive - the closest is Lucille's. Unfortunately Mo's Bagels locations are much further.

Finally the spa is really the best thing about the St Julien, and all the locals know this. Facials, massages, everything is great here - the service and the facilities are all truly worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieReiselust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear dieReiselust,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa on your recent visit to Boulder. I'm pleased you enjoyed Spa at St Julien and your breakfast at Jill's. Per the hotel’s Green Initiative, St Julien Hotel & Spa utilizes a “Green Card” in guest rooms, which explains the hotel’s policy not to change bed linens daily, unless guests place the card on the bed. We're always happy to accommodate a request such as a fresh duvet, and are glad you allowed us to do so when you did not find it to your satisfaction. We hope to have the chance to host you should you return to Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    174
    52
    23
    28
See reviews for
206
296
49
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We live here but when we want to get away for the night, this is the place. Excellent service, beautiful rooms, and perfect location--downtown but right at the foothils. you can walk to many nearby restaurants and Pearl Street walking mall is 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lyndel1374,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit, and for making St Julien Hotel & Spa your in-town getaway. We're pleased that you enjoy the hotel's accommodations, service and location, and hope to have you as guests for years to come.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel is clean, attractive, and well located in Boulder. Pearl St is a block away - very
convenient but the one block reduces traffic in and around the hotel.

Customer service at this hotel is outstanding! People were genuinely friendly and helpful.
Everyone was well groomed and polite.
Hotel gave us a signed card and some candy for our wedding anniversary.

Room was quiet and clean but not super luxurious. Bathroom was of good size with
very nice bath/shower products. Towels and robes of good quality.
Beds and bedding were good although not outstanding. Housekeeping inadvertently
removed our Ploh ($$$) travel pillow but returned it the next day with a sincere apology
and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries.
Very nice turn down service with sweets left on our pillows and bottles of water at bedside.

Room has a very good sized safe for laptops and other valuables.

Hotel has a nice spa with a very decent indoor pool and hot tub.
Hotel has great happy hour (I think it was 4-6:30 nightly) prices for drinks and apps.
They have live music nightly so we elected to stay on the side of the hotel away from the music.
Views are better from the side facing the music. We found out that the music ends at 9:30 so unless you have small kids this probably is not an issue.

Many great restaurants in the area. We liked Arugula (a short drive on Iris St) and Oak on Fourteenth (walking distance).
Buffs for breakfast is an iconic place in Boulder. The president ate there last year. Great Breakfasts!!

I would stay at the St. Julien again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Anrmd,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa, and congratulations once again on your wedding anniversary. We sincerely appreciate your feedback surrounding your entire experience at the hotel – from the rooms, to the service, to the dining, location and entertainment. We're so pleased you enjoyed it all, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently traveled to the Boulder/Denver area for a short vacation. We stayed at the St. Julien in Boulder the first night and enjoyed it immensely. Great customer service, amenities, and decor. The staff made us feel at home and treated us very well. The location is pretty much perfect(right next to flat irons and pearl street mall). I would say the only downside to this hotel is that it is expensive. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in Boulder.

Room Tip: Mountain view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diabloshrmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Diabloshrmp,

Thank you for recommending St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re gratified to hear you enjoyed the hotel's service, décor and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another visit to Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
235 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I love this hotel. it has everything, including an outstanding location. Breakfast is exceptional, spa is perfect and rooms well appointed. Service is excellent at every level. A sure thing in this terrific city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ssmhawaii,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. We value your feedback regarding the location, breakfast, Spa at St Julien, accommodations, and especially the service. We hope to see you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A fairly new hotel, with nice rooms, fantastic service, great staff and super location close to everything in Boulder. Recommend borrowing the hotel's bikes to explore this lovely town. All the facilities you need.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Martin K,

Thank you for taking the time to review St Julien Hotel & Spa; we value the feedback. We’re happy you enjoyed use of the complimentary bikes available to our guests, as well as your accommodations, the service you encountered and the hotel's location. We hope to see you again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great hotel! Had a great time there with my 13 year old son. The location is fantastic...you can walk to all restaurants. We enjoyed the pool and restaurant and the service was outstanding. We had a great room with a great view of the mountains. We really loved hanging out in the courtyard! Great hotel!

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuteandtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear tutuandtoy,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I'm happy to hear you and your son enjoyed the hotel's pool, service, room and location. We hope to have you both as our guests again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
915 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#15 of 20 in Boulder
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 20 in Boulder
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing