We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Boulder for three nights. What a wonderful town. Our first night we stayed at the Boulderado, which was wonderful. We didn't make reservations anywhere for the next two nights because we thought we might go to Vail, but enjoyed Boulder so much that we stayed. The Boulderado was full due to a wedding, so we stayed at St. Julian Hotel and had a great experience. Great happy hour, wonderful rooms, very quiet, posh bathrooms, and the most polite staff I've ever seen. The location can't be beat--just step out the door and immediately enjoy the town.we're not spa-goers so didn't use the spa, but I'm sure it's fabulous! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear kim C,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location and accommodations, and that the guest service you encountered exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    155
    41
    23
    26
See reviews for
174
258
46
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an extremely well run resort in the heart of Boulder. You don't need a car to go to go out to eat, drink or play. Pearl Street, the outdoor mall, is a block away. The staff at the hotel was friendly (if not a bit robotic) and efficient. I would have given St. Julien 5 stars, but the first room I was in overlooked the garden, which was fine. But around 5PM very loud salsa music started. I looked out and saw a live band. It was Salsa night. Watching some of the dancing was quite amusing. As someone commented, "some white people just shouldn't dance". I was thinking the same thing, but I'm too PC to say it out loud. I went downstairs to the reception area and asked if I could get a room away from the noise. I was told that they were booked solid (fair enough) and that this was the only night I would hear music. It wasn't. The music kicked in the next evening, and a family with screaming children moved in next door. Clearly they had little, or no parental supervision. I thought that between the music and the kids, perhaps I should simply check out. I went to the reception desk, and said I was checking out, and after much keyboard work, lo-and-behold a room was found. Thank you, Marcos. The spa is wonderful. Steam room, jacuzzi, large pool, very clean shower and changing area. Unfortunately I was too late for a massage. It was a last minute thought. Next time I'll book in advance. There's happy hour everyday 3:30-6:00PM.. $5 martinis and half-off the menu at Jills, the hotels bistro. There's also a lovely outdoor area where you can sit with friends and family and enjoy a cocktail. All-in-all it was an excellent experience. Ask for a room with a mountain view.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3GPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear 3GPalmSprings,

Thank you for your kinds words about the hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed St Julien Hotel & Spa's various amenities, proximity to Pearl St., and daily happy hour from 4-6:30 p.m. I also appreciate the feedback on the service you received, and am happy to hear that the staff was able to accommodate your room change request the second night.

We hope to have you as our guest – both overnight and for a massage – again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times over the past 3 years and we are extremely impressed by the consistently high quality of service they provide. The location is perfect with beautiful views of the Boulder Flatiron Mountains and only a few steps away from some of the best restaurants in town on the Pearl Street outdoor mall. I would even recommend this for anyone visiting the City of Denver because you are only about 30-40 minutes from downtown, but this place is certainly worth the extra drive.

Room Tip: They have both city and mountain view rooms. I recommend asking for the mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bottleshocktravel,

Thank you so much for your continued patronage of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re happy to hear that you’ve consistently enjoyed the hotel's service and location. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewood, co
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

St. Julien's location, sunset happy hour with live music, spa, pool and sundeck, spacious and quiet rooms, front door and concierge staff all combined to create a fabulous weekend for a group of sorority sisters for our 20 year reunion.

Room Tip: southwestern facing rooms have a spectacular view, but if you won't be in your room for long, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear andra s,

Thank you for choosing St Julien Hotel & Spa for your 20-year reunion, and for providing feedback from your stay. I'm pleased your group enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, from the live entertainment on our Terrace, to the hotel's location and amenities, to the service you encountered. We hope to have the chance to host you again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After staying for 2 previous nights in non-air conditioned hotels, I was really looking forward to a bit more upscale stay, which I found at the St. Julien Hotel. First, the location is superb. You're literally a 2 minute walk from Pearl Street Mall, a pedestrian only (on parts) shopping and restaurant area.

My room was clean and spacious, and I loved the four poster bed. The only problem was when I laid down, I thought I might not get up again, because the bed was so comfortable! Ha.

I had room service and the food was really good. The next morning, I had breakfast in the hotel and the food was really good there, too.

Service was really good throughout the entire hotel.

I got a massage, which was wonderful, along with a pedicure. Really a wonderful experience, but the bed - oh my gosh, I could just fall asleep in this chair now, thinking about that bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Osnab,

Thank you for your review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, and that you found your room – and bed – so comfortable. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is in almost every way a first class hotel. The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful and not only courteous, but friendly. The rooms are well designed, the bathroom especially large. The room was a bit small for a hotel at this price and would be my only quibble here. The king bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet with the windows closed.

Interestingly, I e-mailed a few weeks before coming to inquire about the parking charges. I wondered if spending over a thousand dollars for me mountain view room for three nights with the breakfast allowance wasn't enough and whether parking could be included. I received a very pleasant reply explaining how the parking area used is not owned by the hotel and nothing could be done. So, I was quite surprised on my Saturday arrival to be told by the valet that the lot was free on Sat. and Sun. and I could simply self-park and avoid the charge. Why didn't someone look into this when I asked? Not a big deal but an area where communication could have been better.

As for breakfast; I have no quibbles at all! The food was excellent and the service even better. We ate at the hotel's restaurant each morning, eschewing the room service option and were completely pleased. All of our request were met with good cheer and all of our food was prepared exactly as ordered. One time they did serve me cold french toast, but it was immediately replaced and I wasn't charged for that item. Everyone makes mistakes, but you can judge a restaurant by how they react when told of one. They receive an A+

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear coeurdelion,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. Apologies for the miscommunication about parking; guests can indeed enjoy complimentary self-parking at the structure next to the hotel on weekends. On weekdays, there is a charge for parking in the structure, which is not operated or owned by St Julien. Our valet team is always available to park your car for a charge as well.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

There is no other place to stay. A hotel is all about welcoming people into a place where they are comfortable while offering good food, drink, and accommodations. The St. Julien does all of this while having an amazing location, and design. The door staff is amazing. Those guys anticipate the needs of those they interact with, and truly understand the art of engagement with their guests.

If you get the chance, stay at the St. Julien.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LuvCOLORADO0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LuvCOLORADO917,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel’s location, accommodations and most importantly, the service you received. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#5 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#16 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing