We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is in almost every way a first class hotel. The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful and not only courteous, but friendly. The rooms are well designed, the bathroom especially large. The room was a bit small for a hotel at this price and would be my only quibble here. The king bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet with the windows closed.

Interestingly, I e-mailed a few weeks before coming to inquire about the parking charges. I wondered if spending over a thousand dollars for me mountain view room for three nights with the breakfast allowance wasn't enough and whether parking could be included. I received a very pleasant reply explaining how the parking area used is not owned by the hotel and nothing could be done. So, I was quite surprised on my Saturday arrival to be told by the valet that the lot was free on Sat. and Sun. and I could simply self-park and avoid the charge. Why didn't someone look into this when I asked? Not a big deal but an area where communication could have been better.

As for breakfast; I have no quibbles at all! The food was excellent and the service even better. We ate at the hotel's restaurant each morning, eschewing the room service option and were completely pleased. All of our request were met with good cheer and all of our food was prepared exactly as ordered. One time they did serve me cold french toast, but it was immediately replaced and I wasn't charged for that item. Everyone makes mistakes, but you can judge a restaurant by how they react when told of one. They receive an A+

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear coeurdelion,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. Apologies for the miscommunication about parking; guests can indeed enjoy complimentary self-parking at the structure next to the hotel on weekends. On weekdays, there is a charge for parking in the structure, which is not operated or owned by St Julien. Our valet team is always available to park your car for a charge as well.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    164
    47
    23
    26
See reviews for
187
279
47
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

There is no other place to stay. A hotel is all about welcoming people into a place where they are comfortable while offering good food, drink, and accommodations. The St. Julien does all of this while having an amazing location, and design. The door staff is amazing. Those guys anticipate the needs of those they interact with, and truly understand the art of engagement with their guests.

If you get the chance, stay at the St. Julien.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LuvCOLORADO0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LuvCOLORADO917,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel’s location, accommodations and most importantly, the service you received. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

St. Julien is one of the finer hotels in Colorado, if not the west. It is nestled at the base of a canyon in the foot hills, with the flatirons nearby and CU just a short distance off. It's also a short walk from the Pearl Street Mall, a delightfully funky promenade showing the work of local artists, a variety of food, some great coffee shops, street performers, and musicians. But after 8pm on a late spring weeknight, ironically, brings the luxury of the Spa into contact with what may be the hobo and hippy capital of the nation, as aggressive 20 somethings challenge passersby for food, cash, and womenfolk. It is an experience to, well, experience at least once.

In the meantime, the Spa is also an experience to experience at least once. Many rooms have an awe-inspiring view of the flatirons and foothills, as do the sitting areas and restaurants. A fire and patio provide a great environment for work or reading or chatting. Rooms are well-appointed and extremely comfortable and quiet. Large bathrooms with elaborate stone and tile furnishings are more than needed but are gorgeous.

Some will be annoyed or even alarmed by the juxtaposition of the hobo and the hotel. Enjoy the wonderful hotel experience but do consider the humanity of the hippy and how each of us can best provide hope and even constructive help for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Vince V,

Thank you for your kind words regarding St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed Spa at St Julien, your accommodations at the hotel, and Boulder’s colorful local culture. We hope to have you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

While staying in Boulder, Co. for a few months I treated myself to a half day at the St Julien Spa. I started with a facial, massage and ended with a pedicure. Every procedure was more than excellent and very relaxing. The Spa area is very nice along with the people that work there.

If you check into the hotel or spa they seem to remember you from the last visit and always greet you with a big smile. I think it is very impressive when a hotel/spa pays that much attention to the details.

If you go only for a spa procedure and are not staying at the hotel you can valet park your car.

The hotel is a very nice place with all the high end amenities and if you ask for a Flat Irons view and get it that is one of the best views from the hotel one can get. This hotel is located walking distance to Pearl Street and is walking distance to several great restaurants within a block from the entrance to the hotel. I recommend Brasserie 10 10.

Here is the link for the St Julien Hotel http://www.stjulien.com and the link for Brasserie 10 10 http://www.brasserietenten.com

Room Tip: Ask for a Flat Irons view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear kwanie,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit to Spa at St Julien. I'm pleased you enjoyed your treatments and the service you encountered. We look forward to your next visit – hopefully for an overnight stay as well.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I agree with the ratings having stayed at a Marriott here before that was awful. The rooms are small but well kept. Enjoyed the coffee maker although had to ask for extra capsules and Splenda. There was a large group that took up a lot of the lobby and outside area, our service was still good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piatty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Platty73,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations at St Julien Hotel & Spa, and hope we have the chance to host you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the St. Julien for a long weekend and were highly impressed by its staff, room, and amenities. The pool was lovely as was my experience at the spa. I was thoroughly impressed by the concierge and the valet parking attendants. They were so courteous and accommodating. One of our daughters has celiac disease and the restaurant staff made sure she could safely enjoy her meal. Also love the free wifi and turndown service! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Tula E,

Thank you for the review of your long weekend at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and service you received, and that the staff at Jill’s was able to accommodate your daughter’s dietary restrictions. We look forward to your next visit.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The St. Julien has it all, great location, staff and vibe. Spent the afternoon at their spa which was very nice. Outdoor patio was full of guests listening to the local band during happy hour. Rooms are contemporary style and spacious, bathrooms have granite/rock features that tie in nicely with the Boulder landscape. You can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Boulder; Pearl Street is a shirt block, ask for a mountain view room if you aren't a local to see the unique features of the Flatirons.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Traveltoujours,

Thank you for your review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re glad that you enjoyed the location, accommodations and Spa at St Julien. We hope to have you back as a guest again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#15 of 19 in Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing