We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable , relaxing luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable , relaxing luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I and our two children (1 adult and 1 teen) stayed in 2 rooms for 6 wonderful nights at the end of March. Rooms were comfortable and clean with the exception of the carpeting, which could have used a shampoo. Bathroom amenities were wonderful- bathrobes, loofa and bath salts to use in the soaking tub, body wash, lotion, soaps and shampoos all in the canyon mint scent used at the spa, making for a seamless transition from spa to room. We enjoyed waking up to the city view ( although we could see the mountains as well) each morning. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Concierge and valet services were great. My daughter and I relaxed with facials and she and her dad had massages. Spa service was a nice experience for us all. Spotlessly clean lap pool and large hot tub with waterfall were nice perks at the end of busy days. Location was awesome- just steps to hiking path, boutiques, coffee shops and trendy restaurants. We felt very pampered during our stay and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 550travelgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 550travelgirl48,

We appreciate the feedback regarding your family’s recent stay at St Julien. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the service you received, Spa at St Julien, and the hotel’s location and views. We hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    164
    47
    23
    26
See reviews for
187
279
47
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel was gorgeous, lobby beautiful, great patio for drinks, awesome (though small) indoor pool and amazing spa. Had the best massage of my life there. The hotel rooms are very nice as are the bathrooms. And the location cannot be beat in downtown Boulder. I have no reservations recommending and encourage you to stay here if in your budget!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KVG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear KVG_11,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. We’re very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay – and spa treatment, and hope to have you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I initially picked the St Julien because of location and did not really expect much given that it is not associated with any of the 5 star names that we were so used to, such as the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. but our stay ended up being one of our most memorable ever! We were really impressed with everything about the hotel - rooms and bathrooms were extremely cozy and luxurious and there is so much attention to small details. The staff was super friendly and the place is run very much to the standards of a five star establishment. The lobby was fun and lively at night with a live band. Of course, the location can't be beat - we walked to the nearby breweries and restaurants. Parking was so convenient being right downstairs from the hotel and and can be accessed via an elevator in the lobby. We won't stay any other place in Boulder - this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Pam M,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien. I’m so pleased you found the hotel to be of five-star quality – it’s what we strive to achieve every day. I’m also happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the hotel’s live entertainment, location and service. We’re looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed there with my husband and two kids while my my husband attended conference for a couple days. Service was Ritz Carlton level!! The location was great, we were able to walk around to most locations. Concierge was usually very helpful. I liked the fresh fruit and constant availability of water bottles - such an inexpensive way for them to add value. The doormen were always so helpful. My son left his jacket in the car and they went to get it from the valeted car for us.

Would definitely stay there again if we are in Boulder!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyluxurytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear familyluxurytravel,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your family’s recent stay at St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service you experienced, and some of the extra touches, such as fresh fruit and complimentary bottled water. We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the St Julien in January for three nights to relax after a week of skiing in Vail. I picked this hotel based only on the fact that it rated so high and the location was great in Boulder. It is just 2 blocks from Pearl Street Mall. There is a Chophouse across the street and Rio Grande restaurant is one block away.

Hotel:
The hotel is casual but classy. Lots of stone, glass and wood. Not huge like a big hotel chain which was nice but a full service hotel in every respect. The door men, valets, check in, concierge and bellmen were all top notch. Very helpful and made some great suggestions as to places to eat, see etc. Service was prompt and courteous every time without being pretentious.
Parking was $20 per night but the valets were ready 24 hours and your car was secure as opposed to parking in the public lot next door. Valet was worth it.\
There is great happy hour every night and entertainment in the lobby on weekends. They even put out lots of wide screen televisions when the football playoffs were on.

Room
Not the biggest rooms around but very nice with high end linens, towels, fixtures, four poster bed and a great bathroom all done in stone. We had a nice balcony that looked at the mountains and had furniture outside that would be great if it was not 10 degrees outside.
Very quiet hallways and spotless.
Housekeeping visited twice daily and turn down service was nightly.

Spa
Again excellent facilities and staff. Very clean and all services available. Make sure to try services particular to the Hotel.

This place is rated number one for a reason and it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Room high up and facing mountains is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waimea2vail_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear waimea2vail_12,

Thank you for the detailed review of St Julien Hotel & Spa. I’m pleased your accommodations, Spa at St Julien and the hotel’s location, service and entertainment offerings exceeded your expectations. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My room was very comfortable, scrupulously clean. I loved the large cozy armchair and ottoman. As mentioned by another review, I didn't love that the bedpost stood between that chair and the TV. But for reading, it was perfect.
Service was flawless and unassuming everywhere: bellmen, valet parkers, front desk, concierge, restaurant. Dinner at Jill's was delicious and inventive. The pool was clean and inviting. It was slightly awkward to have to walk around the pool to get to the gym, which was surprisingly small but well-equipped and fine for my needs.
I liked the lobby, expansive yet warm at the same time with its comfortable, casual furniture and large fireplace. It was snowing throughout my visit: it was a constant struggle to keep the dark, wood floors clean. I wondered whether they wished they'd used stone.
Location in Downtown Boulder was great.
I was on a business trip and didn't have time to use the spa. I look forward to coming back for leisure and try their services then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear SuzyG1,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I’m happy you enjoyed the service you received, as well as your meal at Jill’s. We too look forward to having you back for pleasure next time, and hope you have a chance to take in that spa treatment.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed four nights and loved it. Top staff, breakfast, sauna, room, and great live music at night. The happy hour on the weekend was an event. Beautiful, with great location! Concierge service helped particularly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felipevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear felipevaz,

Your compliments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your kind review of the St Julien’s service, location and entertainment. We hope to host you again soon.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#15 of 19 in Boulder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing