We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky mountain gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A quick trip into Boulder for business led me to this gem in the Rocky Mountains. St. Julien is a wonderful hotel with all the amenities you would expect from a top notch small hotel and spa. It is perfectly located in the heart of the city smack in the middle of all the great restaurants and bars. Nicely appointed rooms along with elegantly stated bathrooms and comfortable beds makes this the perfect spot for a relaxing weekend or a business trip. The price is on the high side for business but worth it if you travel frequently and demand a higher level of service and comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrclg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mrclg02,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that the hotel helped to make your business trip relaxing and enjoyable. We hope to have you as our guest again the next time you are in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 988 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

The St. Julien was very nice-- we liked it. Rather than repeat what's been said, let's include some different things. First, the basics you know: the room was immaculately clean as was the hotel; it's conveniently located for walking to shopping, great restaurants, and nearby exploration; and the room service food was quick, well-done, and not too pricey. Wait, there's more.

The beds were comfy. Room temperatures are finely controlled exactly as you like. They use nice quality linens and towels. The pillows have interior dust-mite liners for the fussy or paranoid amongst us. The wife said she liked the velvet-type throw comforter because it was warm and soft. Aww.

The windows open up if you like letting in the fresh air as we do. The cushy chair and plump ottoman were relaxingly comfortable, reading lamps by the bed have two levels for bright reading, and the recessed lighting throughout is pleasantly easygoing on the eyes. The shower water pressure was very good, as were those little bathroom amenities-- you know, the white robes, shampoo, loofah, oatmeal soap, etc.

Three complimentary newspapers are available in the morning (the Denver Post, USA Today, and NY Times, if you have to know). The coffee is of good quality-- two Keurig K-cups, two little creamers (or two packets of the old-school powder), and the use of some adequately thick mugs. We wished they provided more than two stingy coffee K-cups, though, being such a swanky place located in a seriously coffee-loving kind of town.

The staff care and like doing their jobs. It shows. Nattily uniformed concierge, check-in, house cleaning, doormen/valets, and room service did some helpful and thoughtful things to numerous to mention here. They've obviously been well trained and supervised. These things don't just happen by coinidence, happenchance, or in a vacuum by themselves, folks.

Unfortunately, we didn't use the spa, pool, jacuzzi, or steam room. That was our loss. Sigh.

Nice place. They've thought of everything. Well, almost everything. More than two quota cups of coffee in the morning would be somewhere between simply charming and heavenly. Nonetheless, we'd happily stay at the St. Julien again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very well trained and managed staff. We had a short visit but the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located with views of the mountains and easy walking distances to several restaurants. It will be hard to find a better hotel in Boulder.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mickey2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lots of things went wrong and because it was our daughter's 18th birthday we felt doubly disappointed. The rooms were literally miles apart despite email confirmation that they would be adjoining, reservations for spa got lost and then incorrectly booked,no towels at the pool , the reception desk was overpowered by smell of chroline from the pool, bar service was pretty atrocious. The place was overwhelmed by a big wedding to the detriment of all other guests.Just not what you expect from a top notch hotel. The management were full of apologies at the end but our daughter will only be 18 once. On a plus side Boulder is great.

Room Tip: Be sure to be extremely clear in writing if you have any special requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChdeGaulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Bar staff is not to be trusted! They gave the incorrect drinks, did not accept responsibility for it, miscalculated the tab, tried to double bill for certain items, did not return credit card. What was going on last night I do not know, but I thought this was supposed to be a nice hotel!

Basically, nothing was done well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank jeffgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear jeffgaucho,

I am sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience at T-Zero. I will personally follow up with our team regarding the issues you experienced.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here two days for a wedding. They upgraded our room and gave us one with a terrific view and a huge patio. The room could not have been lovelier... serene modern craftsman style, sumptuous linens, and a dreamy bath with a huge soaking tub and a separate shower. My husband got a massage in the spa and was very impressed. I enjoyed the pool. And the wedding, at the hotel, was simply perfect. Great location, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear mojoWashingtonDC,

Thank you for your kind review of St Julien Hotel and Spa. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room, as well as your accommodations and Spa at St Julien. We hope to have you as our guests again next time you are in Boulder.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

St. Julien is a great place to stay when visiting boulder. It has everything you wish in terms of comfort: good pool, nice spa and reasonably equipped gym.
The hotel is close to the main shopping street with many restaurants and cafe's nearby. There are bikes to hire for an outdoors trip as well.
The food was excellent. No big breakfast buffet but all you wish for on order and served quick.
There's many rooms and we lost our way sometimes- because there's only one main elevator and the hotel has several blocks build around that, so a little walk to find the room in my case, which wasn;t a problem, in return a quiet room.

Room Tip: The mountain facing rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear tmaria v,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at St Julien Hotel and Spa; we are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. One thing to note – we do have an extensive brunch buffet on Sundays. We hope to have you as our guest again the next time you are in town, and hope you have the opportunity to sample brunch then as well.

Peter T. Walstra, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,088 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#14 of 23 in Boulder
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range: $254 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing