We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest hotels that I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Julien Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels that I have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The St. Julien Hotel and Spa is probably one of the nicest hotels that I have ever stayed at. I was there for two night in January of 2012 for a business meeting. The hotel staff was excellent and very helpful. Room service was reasonably price and very fast. Hotel's restaurants and bars were very lively and fun with good food that was also reasonably priced. Looking forward to staying there again in the future. From now on, this is the hotel that I will be judging other hotels on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABUPALACESUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear ABUPALACESUCKS,

We appreciate your kind words surrounding your recent stay with us. We always strive to exceed expectations, and are very pleased we succeeded during your stay. Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope you’ll be our guest again soon.

Thank you,

Peter Walstra, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    168
    51
    23
    28
See reviews for
202
290
49
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Pines, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went to the St. Julien for a weekend getaway. We fell in live with the hotel, the staff, Jill's restaurant. We had a wonderful waiter, Antoine, who is from Bordeaux, and his service was outstanding.
The hotel staff is very friendly and welcoming....not at all stuffy. We had a room overlooking the Flatirons which was beautiful. The hotel lobby was so cozy, with the big fireplace and live music. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear esmepp,

We’re glad you had what sounds like such a wonderful time. Pleasing our guests and is what we love to do – and we’re gratified that you took the time to tell us about your stay. We hope you’ll come back!

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Luxury hotel in the heart of Boulder. Public area spacious and attractive, including pool and hot tub area. Front door and valet staff very attentive and informative.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaconvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear jaconvery,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We strive to provide a superior experience to our guests and we’re happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on business for a conference. Exceptional rooms - superb quality throughout. Great staff - extremely good service. Hotel bar is excellent - as is the restaurant, Spa facility is top quality.
Location is perfect - centrally located in downtown Boulder. Easy walks to some great shops and plenty of bars and restaurants.
Standard rooms are very high quality and well serviced. Great amenities and a stunning bathroom with separate wet room shower.
Valet parking available although it's just as easy to park your own car right underneath the hotel in the public car park (you can walk right up to the hotel entrance from the car park)
Can't fault the hotel and well worth paying a little extra for. Will definitely return (in April!) and would love to bring the family too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Griswalds_MK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear The_Griswalds_MK,

Thanks so much for your glowing review. We’re always gratified when guests take the time to tell us how they enjoyed their stay – and we look forward to seeing you again in April as you mention. Please do bring your family!

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you check my profile you will see i have stayed at a number of high-end hotels. This hotel claims to be the best in Boulder. I was in town for a wedding and although i didn't see other hotels I did get feedback from guests at other hotels. Once they entered the St. Julien they would gasp in awe. With that said - the location, lobby and overal look of the hotel is prime. Can't be beat. Also at the bottom of the mountains so if you have a room facing mountains you will have an incredible view (pic attached).

PROS: Close the the action. You can walk anywhere from here. Rooms are very nice and have balcony.
CONS: Being in the middle of the action has its pros and cons. A major CON is noise. One night we heard college kids screaming until 2am. The AC stopped working which really upset me and it was too late to want to call front desk for help so i opened our balcony door. Issue was the college kids screaming so i didn't get much sleep. Major CON is sitting at the outdoor cafe for lunch and waiting 20 min for someone to even take our order. What should have been a quick 30 min snack turned into a 90 minute wait for food.

I have stayed here once before and had no issue with noise or AC so maybe it was just bad luck. If i went to Boulder again i would stay here. I would ask for quitest room though

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear iscreenwriter,

We appreciate your feedback. I’m sorry that you had trouble with the air conditioning in your room and the noise from college revelers on your last trip. Please know that you should always feel comfortable calling the front desk for assistance, no matter what time of the day or night. We work very hard to keep all of our amenities functioning but we obviously failed that evening. In addition, it is never acceptable to suffer an unreasonable wait time for your meal on the outdoor terrace. I have discussed this matter with the staff and they will be more conscientious in their efforts to make sure our guests are well attended to in all of our dining areas. We hope these incidents will not defer you from coming to see us again. Thank you again for your comments.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

New and modern. Clean with excellent beds. Wonderful views towards the mountains and close to the action on Pearl St. Have stayed there multiple times. Good bar. Many receptions during the summer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the mountains (west) or the Flatirons (south)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRocket13111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear SeattleRocket13111,

Thanks for your very kind comments! We love hearing from guests who have found a second home here at the St Julien – and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The building itself was phenomenal. Location can't be beat. Sometimes the service was wonderful, other times - not so much. For a hotel that ends up around $275.00 a night, you would think the hotel bar would have all the ingredients to make their signature cocktails. However during our two night stay, they were out of mint. For Real. How is that possible in a high end bar for two days to be out of mint? Some bad attitude from employees overshadow some others that tired hard to please. Unfortunately it wasn't near the experience that a good boutique hotel in downtown Denver provides. Won't stay again unless we get a much much better deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makelymyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear makelymyday,

We’re very sorry you encountered some challenges during your visit to the St Julien. We strive to make every guest’s stay a memorable and enjoyable experience, and we’re never happy when a guest leaves with an unfavorable impression. I will personally follow up with you regarding your stay.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 20 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#8 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boulder Marriott
Boulder Marriott
#13 of 20 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Property: St Julien Hotel and Spa
Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St Julien Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing