We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops of Wonder”
Review of Greenbriar Inn

Greenbriar Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Greenbriar Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 577 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 36 & Lefthand Canyon
Description: Opened in 1967, The Greenbriar Inn is an elegant restaurant, tavern and private event space located in the north Boulder countryside and nestled at the foot of the Rocky Mountains. The surrounding 20 acres features two ponds, striking woodland and thriving produce, herb, and flower gardens. The cuisine focuses on seasonal, American classics and is complimented by a 900 label award-winning wine cellar.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scallops of Wonder”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

1980's decor. 1960's feel. Strange rock tables from Bedrock. The food sublime. The service was unevenly paced...sometimes the waiter appeared, the bartender helped serve, another bar tender came out, and it took us over a half an hour to get the check. it was sort of a surprise who might show up next, but everyone that dropped by the table was helpful. We ate outside which added to the feeling that it was a special night in our own little tucked away inn. Scallops were amazing, salmon was perfect, the Caesar sald made table side I could've eaten all night. The grapefruit sorbet not only cleansed the palette, but delighted the whole table. A great place to impress a date, but somehow it also calls to mind the casual elegance that would please Don Draper

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Collegetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely brunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot speak to any other meals at the Greenbriar Inn, but I can highly recommend the brunch. The only thing that keeps me from giving it an "excellent" is that fact that it is a buffet. But the tables were beautifully set; the room is very attractive; the garden is lovely; and the food was delicious--from oysters on the half shell to specially prepared omelets to tasty desserts. The wait staff was attentive and friendly, and there was no skimping on the champagne. I hope to go back before we leave Colorado for an evening meal here. Everything I saw and tasted made me think it would be a fine dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stubtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a one of a kind experience and should not be missed”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is one of the best all around dining experiences I have ever had and I have had MANY in several cities coast to coast! The food is absolutely incredible and the service is superb. Special occasions are perfect for this establishment. Wine list to match...be ready to spend some money and be ready to have a culinary experience that you will not forget. Noteworthy items I have had here and recommend: pork belly appetizers, foi gras, duck entrees, and of course any of the beef is prime. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, at the base of the mountains and much of the food is grown right on the property.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Forever Wellington”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was one of those dishes that makes you rave about it, case and point. The location is superb, never a hassle with parking, everyone is very friendly, oh, and the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsenburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak Tar Tar”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just stopped by the Greenbriar with 10 people, family and friends, at8:30 pm, following a friends memorial service in Jamestown. They made the Steak Tartar special for me since it I knew it used to be on the menu. Both the Ceasar's Salad & the Steak Tartar were made table side. Service was impeccable and everyone else raved about their food, from steak to duck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigode8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbriar Inn also viewed

 

Been to Greenbriar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing