We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Good Food on the Mall”
Review of Boulder Cafe - CLOSED

Boulder Cafe
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value and Good Food on the Mall”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ended up eating here 3 times in four days. Great food. Great prices (amazingly enough on the pricey Boulder Mall). Good service. Great crowd and great views of the mall from this strategically placed establishment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank le_meridional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    62
    34
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Affordable happy hour, but service quality is below average.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My friend and I stopped in here for happy hour on a Friday night. It was very crowded, but we were able to get a table right away and we were served fairly quickly. The appetizers we ordered tasted good, and it was affordable. The Boulder Cafe is in a fun location if you enjoy the Pearl St. mall, but the service is seriously lacking. Our waitress was cold, abrupt, and eating from the plate of her visiting friend throughout our meal. Additionally, that visiting friend was pounding on the wall trying to get the lights to flicker in his booth during our meal, and it was quite distracting. They seemed very immature and unaware that they were in a restaurant. They need some training in customer service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good lunch or happy hour spot”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went for lunch. Between the 3 of us we had fondue (something different and good), french onion soup (not amazing but good hit the spot) and a fish sandwich (enjoyed thoroughly). Many items are 1/2 price during happy hour, so it seems like a good place to go for a cheap happy hour beer and to share an appetizer or two. Our service was a little slow, but friendly. Comfortable booth in a nice atmosphere. Decent food and value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After reading other reviews we expected more from this Boulder icon. Met friends on the mall on a Friday evening, planning to go to Shine, but it was closed for a special occasion. Thought we would give the Boulder Cafe a try. Place was busy but we were seated quickly and were waited on quickly. I thought the menu was limited and as I don't like fish decided on a burger, we also ordered chicken fajitas and lettuce wraps, wine and cappacino. The cappacino was awful, the burger was burnt, fries were average, fajitas were tasty and the lettuce wraps good. Value for the price was reasonable. Wait staff was friendly and quick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Divine"”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The waitress said the Colorado Onion Soup was "divine." She was right! Great little place to catch a salad and soup.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TracyRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing