We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing authentic food but, tiny location...”
Review of Rincon Argentino

Rincon Argentino
Ranked #11 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Argentinean
Description: At Rincon Argentino you will find a flavorful variety of empanadas, sandwiches with chimichurri sauce, desserts and more. Enjoy a Malbec, draft beer or mate in an intimate and authentic environment where the social aspect is just as rich as the food.
Restaurant details
Description: At Rincon Argentino you will find a flavorful variety of empanadas, sandwiches with chimichurri sauce, desserts and more. Enjoy a Malbec, draft beer or mate in an intimate and authentic environment where the social aspect is just as rich as the food.
Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic food but, tiny location...”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Rincon is a super small restaurant and mini-market near the university. Homemade empanadas are the highlight, and they were amazing. The open kitchen area allows guests to watch the pastries being made, while the aroma fills the air.

There is at least a dozen options and there should be something for everyone. The only reason I am not giving these folks a five is the small location. While it's nice it can be tough to get a seat...

Go there and try as many options as you can...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Colorado_Mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    38
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An authentic 'small taste' of Argentina”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This small cafe and mini-market on the edge of The Village shopping center in Boulder is a fabulous find. Owned and staffed by Argentinians and full of Argentine expats watching Argentinian soccer on the TV and chatting in Spanish, it was apparent as soon as I walked in that the food and drink here are the real deal. Homemade empanadas are the highlight, and they were simply sublime - better than anything I had in Buenos Aires. The open kitchen area allows guests to watch the flaky pastries being made, while the aroma of buttery crust fills the air.

At least 15-18 varieties of empanadas are offered, from classic steak and chicken barbacoa to plenty of non-meat options such as cheese with mixed onions, spinach with roasted cherry tomatoes and pine nuts, or the amazing wild mushroom blend. At $2.99 each, order a selection and sample several flavors with a dining companion. And you can choose a side of salsa for dipping - the traditional chimichurri, pungent with parsley, garlic and red pepper, was as fresh as it gets. That's really the draw here: unbelievably fresh, savory ingredients! The short menu also includes sandwiches and salads, as well as Argentine sweets like flan, dulce de leche ice cream, and quince tarts. And traditional mate is served each afternoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This Family-run Authentic Argentine Restaurant is Amazing”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

For many years, my best friend was from Argentina. These people care most about three things: 1. Beef; 2. Empanadas; and 3. Red wine (not necessarily in that order.) The food in Rincon Argentino is as good as any I have eaten in Argentina. The only drawback is that there are so many choices, and you order from the cashier, if new people are in front of you they can take a long time deciding. However, it’s worth the wait. We eat empanadas there, and then take 80% cooked home and put them in the refrigerator for dinner. They are good for three days. I recently tried the beef Milanese sandwich, with cheese, sauce, and onions. I was delighted as the beef was surprisingly tender and tasty. It was so large that I ate half and had the other half for dinner. When I commented on the size, Christian said, “That’s the size of a sandwich I would like to be served.” Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Argentinian Empanadas”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I've come here about five times already and cannot grow tired of it. Friendly staff and awesome empanadas. Must for lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juanjacobo_vdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for snack or full meal.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in at lunch time and there was a small line but it went fast. Casual place. My husband and I had two empanadas (2.99) each and shared two different sauces (.25). There were also sandwiches on the menu but did not try. There is patio seating and they have beer but we were told you could not take it outside. If I am ever in Boulder again and need just a little something to snack on I would stop in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rincon Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing