We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent small italian restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL Pastaio

IL Pastaio
Ranked #66 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dekalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent small italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant is small and the kitchen is always in view, but it somehow has a great atmosphere. The pasta dish that I had was great and the Salmon entree that my wife had was excellent. The waiter was very pleasant and he got all of the orders straight without writing anything down. I was very impressed with this restaurant and will go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartington, ne.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fantastic service, great presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A little "hole in the wall", a "dive spot"...that is cranking out awesome italian food. Owner was a tremendous help walking us through the different meals. 2 adults, 3 small kids...we all shared each others meals--they were to die for. Limited seating, but it works. I would go back for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornfedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice family owned restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I went here a few years ago when my son first moved to Boulder. I swore we'd be back, but finally got a chance to stop in for lunch a few weeks ago. It is a good value for wonderful homemade lasagne, salad and bread. Delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why are all of the good Italian joints in strip malls?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome Italian food! I had the caprase salad to start with and it was one of the best I've had. Seasoned perfectly and all components came together. Also had a side dish of sauteed mushrooms which were pretty good. For entrée I had their homemade four cheese ravioli (they have at least ten kinds of ravioli to choose from) and the spicy arrabiata sauce. Great pasta and well seasoned again. Delicious warm bread also served with your meal.

I would definitely give this place five stars if the service was a little friendlier. The service was good but not that warm. Also the atmosphere leaves a little to be desired as far as the overall ambiance and their one restroom, while clean, could use a make over.

Overall I would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TAreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pasta was awesome! Some sauces great, others, eh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

First, the great - on the food - the pasta is made right there, you can see them put the dough in the machine and the pasta came out the other side . . . so, REALLY fresh. It was awesome, truly. Chewy, delicious. Amont the best pasta we've had in CO (and had a lot of pasta around the world).

Then, the so-so - two of us ate, one of us had a sauce that was terrific! It was the italian sausage. A little sweet, nice chucks of salsiccia, really good. I was deciding between the pomodoro and tomato/basil. The waiter recommended the tomato/basil. it should have been called pepper tomato sauce. The black pepper was overwhelming. I had to ask for cheese to try to drown out the pepper flavor.

The not so good - it's a pretty small place (which is really nice, cozy even - in the spring, summer and fall). In the winter, the whole place is cold. I had to keep my coat on through the meal. My husband, who is rarely cold, kept his on too. I guess it might be OK if there wasn't a wind. Some people waiting outside, some inside and they kinda crowded the tables in the back toward the door.

also, we had a reservation, but not sure it mattered . . . doesn't seem like they keep track.

The pasta was so good, we'd go back - but probably not in the winter, and would definitely try other sauces, maybe the gnocchi and ravioli.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank besa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Pastaio also viewed

 

Been to IL Pastaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing