We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection - good food.”
Review of The Sink

The Sink
Ranked #20 of 575 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Sink has been a University of Colorado legend since 1923. Offering a wide variety of scratch made sandwiches, burgers, pizza and salads. Featuring grass-fed beef, locally baked organic breads and seasonal local produce. A full bar features eighteen draft beers and locally produced beers and spirits. This historic landmark is a must see for any visit to Boulder, truly one of a kind!
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer selection - good food.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Big selection of craft brews, great happy hour prices, and delicious pizza. What more could you want? Oh, grass fed, steroid/antibiotic free, beef in your burger? They have that too. A fun college bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    134
    35
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go For The Experience More Than The Food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staying in the area & swayed by reading The Sink was featured on Food Network's Diners, Drive Ins & Dives.
It was a Thursday evening around 7 p.m. & there was a party of 20 and another of 5 ahead of us. Miraculously, we waited a mere 5 minutes or so before we were seated.
Exceptionally friendly wait staff, quick service and an upbeat vibe and it was entertaining to take in the wall & ceiling grafitti art.
I had the Chipotle Black Bean Burger with a side Caesar and my husband had the Smoked BBQ Sandwich. My burger was luke warm but I have to say the flavour was there. BBQ sandwich was good but nothing to rave about. A bit pricey ($31 for the aforementioned plus 2 soft drinks).
Interesting to learn the restaurant is 100% wind-powered and all the food is prepared from scratch.
Not sorry we went but perhaps would not make it a point to go again when in the area next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureNut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a really great restaurant to go as a destination. The graffiti-style art on the walls is fun and funky, and you can sign the ceiling. It's got vintage charm and celebrity claims to fame (we sat by Robert Redford's signature).

The food was great, so we didn't mind paying the higher prices. Good for all ages! Great place to stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilla, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went here for a dinner on one of our last nights in Boulder! My husband said if we had gone here first he would not have gone any where else. The food was FANTASTIC and reasonable. The place is famous for President Obama going there while in Boulder as well as one of the burgers being features on Guy Fieri's show. I would highly recommend this place - you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You have to go”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Boulder and found a lot of restaurants. A local paper advertised The Sink and it looked like a place that should be tried. The restaurant has been open for 90 years. It was a great choice. Interesting burgers and pizza as well as create your own with lots of available toppings. Good flavor. Fries are also good. The restaurant walls are amazing. Go there to see who used to be a restaurant janitor. Staff is friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sink also viewed

 

Been to The Sink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing