We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Chez Thuy Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Some bad reviews, but been here 3 times and loved every dish. The Kung Pao dishes are amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 02840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OMG it was awesome!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Tons of very tasty food for not alot of money. Really enjoyed everything they had and cant believe how big the menu is. We will go there again the next time we go to Boulder.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanbeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Beef Pho”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This used to be hands-down the best Vietnamese in Boulder, but on our most recent visit, the Pho was a huge disappointment. Broth and noodles were good, but the meat was inedible. We packed it out for our dog.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webmanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb Real Vietnamese Food In The Scary People's Republic”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I normally avoid Boulder, Colorado like I do Donald Trump's barber and Pakistan. However, I happily make an exception when I want outstanding Vietnamese cuisine. Chez Thuy is where I get that cuisine.

Since 1996, my wife and I have been coming to this very popular, award-winning (many) restaurant on 28th Street. When you pull in, park out back where there are more spaces than the handful you see in front.

Rub Budda's belly for luck when you walk in. He is on the right.

Don't want to wait for a table? Get there early. Don't like to read? Then you won't like the massive menu.

Start with the fresh spring rolls with shrimp. Dip them in the hot (spicy) sauce. Oh, man.

Many people get the lettuce wraps. I like the stuffed grape leaves, which have a unique and wonderful flavor. The hot pots are also very popular, as are the soups (excellent pho). I order the amazing soft-shell crabs or the five-spice duck. My wife likes the pork spring rolls, as do I.

Occasionally service might be a bit slow, but we overlook that due to the quality of the food.

Do yourself a favor and hit Chez Thuy.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing since it was so crowded”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Since the restaurant was packed, I assumed it was great. Perhaps they were understaffed, but I found the service slow. The eggrolls were dry, and we didn't get enough lettuce to wrap them up. My pho had no flavor, but was like basic broth and noodles.

One good thing: a friend in our party left her purse there, and it was safely behind the counter when we went back to find it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel-hawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Thuy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Thuy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing