We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Place”
Review of Ristorante L - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ristorante L
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Featuring classic and contemporary Italian cuisine from executive chef Sakima Isaac. We use the highest quality local-organic ingredients, as well as exciting and unique Italian imports. At The L, we demonstrate our commitment to culinary excellence and responsible sourcing by using whole local grass-fed cows from Saw Hill Farm, Long Farm pigs, and Wisdom Farm chickens. We pride ourselves not only on using day boat fish, but on our use of sustainably caught wild fish, and only the very best quality farmed fish. Our bakery produces breads, pastas, and desserts in-house, by hand, using organic ingredients. Compliment your meal with one of over 350 unique wines from our award wining list. Join us tonight for dinner, and enjoy a remarkable dining experience. Boulder's best Happy Hour is available in the wine bar everyday from 3 pm until close.
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Place”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Dinner at "The L" (as it is now called) was absolutely wonderful. The wait staff was very nice (though understaffed), the atmosphere was energetic, and the food spectacular. The filet was so tender that it could be cut with a fork.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0bal_R0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local Boulder Favorite”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this place! I think you will too. It's been in Boulder a long time, and is a mainstay favorite for many locals. They have a very good wide range menu from great wood oven pizza and apps to delicious sea bass for $28.00. They also offer an excellent wine selection. It's at an outdoor mall, but it has lovely ambiance. The bar is cozy and we sometimes enjoy just having apps there and/or pizza. They have a happy hour menu that goes all night with some very good and reasonable selections. The main restaurant is comfortable and nicely decorated. It has a resident owner/ operator that started this restaurant way back in the 80"s. For any restaurant to survive that long, it has got to have something going! Well worth a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boulderjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I wished I liked it more”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's fine, really. Somehow though it isn't ever memorable. The service is great, the food is great, I think they need a signature something.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and wine, great servce”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Dropped by for a snack and a glass of wine. The service was great every step of the way, from the greeter to the wait staff. The appetizers were small in size, but tasted ok (Calamari / salami). We decided to order a pizza - pepperoni and prosciutto - and THAT was phenomenal! Light and tasty, just the way they make it in Italy. The house red (Montepulciano) was excellent. All-in-all, we left with a VERY reasonable bill, a great pizza, and a couple of glasses of good wine. Great value, great service. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Collins, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coulda been a contender”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

For another visit but most likely not. Food was for the most part too salty and one would think at an Italian style restaurant the first thing besides a big friendly greeting would be the bread and that took at least 4 requests even tho our waitress said she would be back with the bread! Our party of 7 there for a special occasion was seated in a rather cramped seating arrangement even tho we had reservations and it wasn't that crowded in the main dining room. The food we enjoyed most was the antipasta soft polenta, poached pear salad, spag carbonara, slumi pizza and kids cheese pizza - other food dishes ordered were too salty or just so-so nothing to come back for especially for the prices. The kids cheese pizza at 5 bucks was the best deal! Oh well I like to just say- tried it now won't have to go back when I have a dining experience like this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidsgrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante L also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing