We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The go-to place for Mexican in Boulder”

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th
Description: Step away from the Pearl Street Mall and escape to the Rio. Featuring a rooftop deck with spectacular mountain views - for a little weekend spirit every day of the week. The Boulder Rio is seriously good, whether you're bringing the family for dinner or just bringing your thirst for a good time.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The go-to place for Mexican in Boulder”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I have been dining at the Rio Grande for years now and it's one of our favorites. When it's one of our birthdays, we almost always chose the Rio Grande to celebrate out of many fantastic restaurants we have around us- the Rio is top-knotch. The menu is large enough for everyone to find something they like. The food is tex-mex and it is so delicious! Their burritos are huge and filling. You do have to order a side of rice/ beans with it, but it's not much additional. Beware of their margaritas- they're great but they're quite strong (they have a limit of three per person)- just a mini margarita is the right amount if you're driving. Their sopapillas for dessert are delicious- don't miss ordering these!

For dinner it can get very crowded, so be sure to get there early or call to make a reservation. This place has a great location just off Pearl Street in Boulder- one of Boulder's main attractions. If you're in Boulder and looking for a reasonable place for lunch or dinner, be sure to stop by here- you won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    79
    45
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not disappointing in any aspect...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Wholly satisfying!! Best ever margaritas! Just pace yourself with these margaritas as they can – and will - sneak up on you.

For years we’ve dined at the Fort Collins Rio Grande. This was the first time we’ve dined at the Boulder restaurant and found it much more suitable – perhaps because the clientele was more mature and the premises cleaner. You can’t beat the cheese enchiladas – even if they are swathed in Velveeta – they still taste marvelous. Beware of the Shrimp Diabla – to say they are fiery hot is an understatement. I couldn’t eat them, but my husband appreciated the extra helping. Heat is definitely a personal tolerance. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

PSSSST: Whispers from the Waiter: Rio Boulder will be closed in January to completely renovate the kitchen.

Date of Visit: 19Dec2012

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Such a poor excuse for Mexican food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I don't like restaurants that stake their reputation on their drinks. This place is known for their margaritas and they aren't even that great. I had a tostada that was filled with lettuce and not much else. Over crowded, over noisy and service was fair, not great. Perhaps it's the captive audience of Boulder but Boulder has lots of restaurants way better than this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a few margs and dinner!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Love their margaritas and the shrimp fajitas was awesome. Great place to have dinner if you visit Boulder, Colorado.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great deck, average food, ridiculous policy!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friends and I go to this place every time we are in Boulder for the roof top deck. It's just great to sit out under the CO sun and enjoy drinks with friends. However, speaking of drinks, they have a ludicrous policy of only serving you 3 of their "famous" margaritas. I suppose they are supposed to be super strong, but I don't think they're any stronger than a normal one. Not only will they not serve you any more than 3 of these (by the way, they do taste quite good), they cut you off ENTIRELY! Now, I'm 6'5" and 225 lbs and my wife is 5'5" and 121 lbs; yet, they will serve her the same amount. How much sense does that make? We left right after my 3rd to go to another bar and spend our money there.
The food is good, but not great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KailuaBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing