We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre offerings, poor service”
Review of Conor O'Neill's

Conor O'Neill's
Ranked #153 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An Irish pub is the stuff of legends, just as Irish thirst is legendary. Pubs in Ireland are much more than a place for drinking, they are a social experience, part theatre, part debating chamber and part livingroom. The pub often seems an extension of the living room and in many rural parts of Ireland also act as the local shop-one corner serving butter and eggs and the other serving foaming glasses of stout. Our aim at Conor O'Neill's is to bring to Boulder a truly authentic traditional Irish Pub.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre offerings, poor service”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I have been to Conor O'Neills several times -- not really my choice, but because friends like the trivia despite their overpriced drinks and mediocre food. They've further diminished their value by cutting back on specials over the years, but the final straw was the service on my most recent visit: simply rude and uninformed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin K, Manager at Conor O'Neill's, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Lenin1991,

We're sorry to hear that you had such an awful experience with us. The good news is that we've changed our menu to include healthier items as well as brought back the FREE BEER specials on Monday - Thursdays! We currently offer drink specials every day of the week from 9pm-Close, with one of the best Happy Hours in Boulder (3-7pm EVERYDAY with $3 Pints, $3 Wines, $3 Wells and $3 Europlates!). We hope you'll come back and see us and try your luck at our Monday Night Trivia! Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eh...Same pub food, no surprises.”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

It's a cookie cutter pub like so many others. No surprises here, but not bad. Drinks are expensive.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Osfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Fine Irish Pub, Lassie”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Travelling with 6 gal friends in search of an authentic Irish Pub.
One in the group is Irish, so we were in search of some authenticity.
It is a great little pub, very fun. A nice selection of brews. Service
was good. The food we had was above average. I would recommend
the pot pie which is made on site every morning.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Fun Bar”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My wife and I visited this bar on two occasions during our recent stay in
Boulder. Good beer selection (including Guinness and Kilkenny on Draft) and a number of Malted and Unmalted whiskeys. The atmosphere is warm and friendly with many typical trappings of an Irish-themed pub. The bartenders and crowd are mostly college age with a healthy mixture of different generations. We attended trivia night on Monday which was a great deal of fun, and we also saw a live funk/jam band later that week. In short this bar is friendly, fun and has many reasons to patronize.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelbw1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
“Best Fish and Chips / Authentic Refuge”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My English son-in-law confirms the fish and chips are on a par with what one will find at quality pubs in the UK, so that's as good a recommendation as any. My wife and I went there on a weekday before happy hour and service was excellent. Even though the mussels were a bit garlicy for my taste, Judith loved them beyond measure, giving this warm-up dish high marks. The portion size of the fish and chips I ordered was enough for both of us to share. Sitting near the fireplace was cozy at the rear of the pub and afforded us welcome refuge on a wintery Boulder afternoon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rookie01a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conor O'Neill's also viewed

 

Been to Conor O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing