We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic yet modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Atelier

L'Atelier
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Atelier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 572 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 18th & Pearl
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classic yet modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

L'Atelier is a classic "French" restaurant (the chef is Hungarian but classically trained), yet the food is modern (nouvelle cuisine, lighter), always fresh and seasonal. The menu changes daily, but each time we've been, the food is wonderful. The sea bass I wanted last night came with tiny lentils, but I lusted after the celery-root puree, and it was not problem for the switch. The service is quiet, efficient, perfect. The atmosphere is calm, elegant, with unexpected twists, like the Chinese paper fish on the chandeliers. When l'Atelier is full, it's noisy (but not too noisy), and if you ask for a booth, you will have a very private and serene experience with lovely food and an extensive wine list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very, very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had the appetizer seared foie gras.... excellent. The waiter recommended a wine for me that was spot on! Loved it. Entree was the pork and my friend had the duck. Superb. Dessert was the bread pudding. The whole night was wonderful and there wasn't one thing that we ate that wasn't excellent. Service was excellent. Always there at the right time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarielleVGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent and reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been here 1-2 times per year (when passing through Denver) for several years and have never been disappointed. Last night was just another example. No trouble reserving a booth for early Sat night one week in advance. Friendly efficient hostess, followed by excellent service at the table. We shared 4 appetizers: mussels a la provencale-great sauce, mussels good but not as large or flavorful as they sometimes have; lobster ravioli-pasta squares filled with lobster meat in a light butter sauce; lobster and langoustine in cream sauce-really good although rich!; and my favorite, stuffed quail in a light brown sauce. Main course continued to be excellent: a large pork chop with creamy potatoes and trumpet mushrooms, lobster meuniere that did not skimp on the lobster, big tasty scallops with pureed vegetables and an interesting beurre blanc sauce, and a steak/frites (excellent meat, but it is Colorado so this should be expected!) We were full, but decided to try their "griottes" desert: tasty tangy cherries in a rich cherry/chocolate sauce, with an even more intense chocolate mousse on the side. All really well done, for a final bill that was somewhat less than restaurants of this class in major cities.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a special occasion dinner here. DH had rack of lamb which he pronounced delicious, I had gluten/dairy free bouillabaisse which was also very good. It was noisy. We had dinner early, with only 5 tables filled, but we could certainly hear all conversations in the room. Other than that, the decor is very nice.

A little expensive but a good choice for a special evening. We noticed they have specials for holidays like Valentine's Day, which I am sure would be lovely. We will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always an outstanding and reliable choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent cuisine and pleasant atmosphere. Radek, the owner, goes out of his way to make everyone feel welcome and appreciated.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mairch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing