We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery

Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Ranked #4 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff made sure we sampled the different beers before we committed to just one. The steak sandwich that I had was absolutely incredible! The quesadillas were huge and tasted fantastic! A definite must go in Boulder!

Helpful?
Thank WNE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    192
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wide variety of Ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

A wide variety of Ales (some quite good) and a very friendly and knowledgeable waiter (Casey). The layout, new age/bohemian decor and American menu completely defy the claim that this is an "English Pub", but an ok place.

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by on our way through Boulder. The staff was awesome - very friendly with free fries & beer samples. Yummy food, feel of a local place. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenben328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

As others have pointed out, this place is more of a bar than an eatery. When we arrived there was no wait; by the time we left the wait was at least 30 minutes, and I am not sure why. The bloody marys were spicy, but more ice than drink. Beers were good and selection varied, but that was as good as it got. Apparently this place's philosophy is that all of the staff does all of the chores- so the guy who is serving your food today is washing dishes tomorrow, and all tips are pooled. interesting concept, but it translates into folks who may not be well-versed in the food offerings, and little incentive to learn them. we had at least 3 different servers in our one visit, and it was painfully obvious that they were not communicating with one another. after two attempts to get our orders right, the third time finally was the charm, but again, the food was nothing to write home about. or to write tripadvisor about. beers were the draw, but remember to bring cash.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nice place to watch people both inside the facility and walking by on the side-walk.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The beers were good but not outstanding. Wait staff very attentive and knew how to describe the various beers they produced. Old building = nice ambiance. Also, a nice place to watch people both inside the facility and walking by on the side-walk.

BTW: they don't take credit cards .... kind of strange in a tourist town

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Guy_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing