We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery

Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery
Ranked #4 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Another one of the places we wanted to go on our return to Boulder. The beer is the main draw (I especially enjoyed the xxx pale ale and the Vagabond IPA this visit) but the food is excellent too and great value. Nothing super fancy, but good pub food made with good ingradients. Several tasty-looking vegan-vegetarian options too. The service was great: the waiter gave me decent-sized tastings of several beers at no charge. It's always busy and noisy, but I like that in a pub.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NobbyStilesTeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    192
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
231 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I love the beer. Colorado Kind and Annapurna Amber. Yum! Great cheap place and super loud, yes. But also means a great place to take the kids.
The spinach salad is fabulous as are the fries.
A nice hang out in Boulder. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Too Loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I didn't realize that even at the end of May, Boulder is still inhabited by so many college students. This place had excellent ratings, but probably from the students. Food was very cheap, but that was probably why it wasn't very good. I had a salad with chicken. My husband had a burger, which was rated highly. However, it was just a frozen patty. It was so noisy, we couldn't have any sort of conversation. I would not go there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

They have a good selection of beers and wonderful healthy food. It's priced very well, and well worth it. It does get a bit loud, the place is very cozy and gets crowed ( signs that it's a great place), so be ready to wait and if you do you will definitely enjoy your time. Staff and service is GREAT and VERY friendly!!!!!
It's ideal for the whole family (very laid back, casual dining) and better yet for a group of friends just wanting to spend time together while having good food and beer!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzzzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Funky place with GREAT food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This joint definitely has that hippie vibe, with the decor and waiters with dreadlocks, but they were super friendly and the food was VERY good! I got the burger and fries and would highly recommend it. While it wasn't as good as Park Burger in downtown Denver, it was very juicy, well seasoned, and bursting with flavor. I definitely recommend checking this place out if you are anywhere near the Boulder area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehungryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing