We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost like being in NOLA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucile's

Lucile's
Ranked #13 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Cuisine is Creole
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost like being in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I lived in New Orleans for 15 years and this place is legit. Beignets are huge but just as delicious at Cafe Du Monde. The cafe au lait was delicious. And the entrees can't be beat! Had the grits and it took me home. Worth the wait - do not miss!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uyen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    104
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Boulder favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our local friend took us here for our first breakfast in town and it did not disappoint! Cozy and crowded place with delicious food! Apparently the wait is usually really long but we got there at just the right time and walked right in. Would have been worth the wait!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank caitiesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Make sure your hungry, your in for a tasty ride!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staying in Boulder for a few days and looking for a unique breakfast stop, both the various internet sites and the locals highly recommended Lucile's. We were not disappointed; in fact, we came back one last time before heading home. First off, you must, must, must order the beignets, for they are out of this world. Secondly, make sure you don't gorge on too many of those beignets, because the meals come at your large and there are a ton of side dishes that are hard to resist. I highly encourage you to not hold back. Not having truly experienced Creole dining before, I can't vouch for authenticity, but I can highly recommend all of the dishes I had, especially if you like a little (and even a lot, if that is your preference) spice to your breakfast.

In terms of service, the waiters were excellent, and as prompt as they can be given how busy this place quickly gets (warning, show up early!!). Nonetheless, the wait is totally worth it. Whether intentional or not, Lucille's reminds me of the slow dining experiences of Europe, so don't rush it and don't panic if your waiter isn't hovering around you every 10 minutes or so. The atmosphere is kind of like all your family packed in at grandma's, who's busy away preparing a large feast for all. Cosy, tight seating, with wonderful smells drifting around you!!

Pros: Excellent food, excellent variety, excellent service, and most importantly, excellent beignets

Cons: If you are looking for quick service, you may want to look elsewhere; this place can get a bit cramped and feels designed for those who prefer to slowly wake as they enjoy some excellent food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ventureman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want something that's not the same old same old breakfast, Lucile's is the place. The fried potatoes have some Cajun spices that were not spicy hot but wonderfully delicious. My wife said the eggs Benedict were the best she's ever had. They home make their strawberry rhubarb, blueberry, apple butter, and orange marmalade, and we had to buy some blueberry preserves to take home. Great place to take visitors (mid-week though as weekends are insane). They also experiment with very interesting pancake recipes (on one occasion I had pear poppy seed pancakes with an orange and butter topping; I now make those at home for guests but use marmalade and butter).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
263 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Start the day right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

You need to get to Lucile's early or be prepared to wait but it's worth it if you have to wait. The poached egg with fresh trout was very good. My husband said the steel cut oatmeal was the best he has ever had in a restaurant. The fresh fruit cup, while not inexpensive, was so fresh - tasted like the berries had been picked just before served.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucile's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing