We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tapas!”

The Mediterranean Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mediterranean Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 575 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Greek, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 9th St. and 11th St.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stumbled up on this restaurant and had a wonderful meal! We sat at high tables in the bar area and ordered tapas - which were all delicious. The white sangria and the traditional sangria were both cold, fruity and refreshing. The sauteed mushrooms, beet salad, grilled shrimp, and falafel tapas were all perfect blends of flavors and spices. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. Will definitely go here next time we are in Boulder.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    345
    109
    39
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I am currently sitting in the restaurant, I couldn't even wait to leave to submit my review! This place is amazing. I ordered off the tapas menu and everything is cooked to perfection. The bacon wrapped dates are out of this world! Service is amazing, atmosphere is adorable. Presentation fantastic. Definitely try this restaurant! I like it so much, I'm coming back tomorrow :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Med is the Best in Boulder”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently ate at The Mediterranean in Boulder and had wonderful food, superb service, and great value. We asked for an outside table and enjoyed ourselves so much, we cancelled our dinner reservations at another restaurant and booked a second dinner at The Med. We had a selection of tapas that included bacon wrapped dates, a sampler plate of three spreads for crispy pitas, a Greek salad, tabolleh, and olives. We also enjoyed deep fried artichoke hearts with a garlicy aioli. The pollo diablo with chiles, rosemary, and garlic was exceptional with tender, flavorful chicken, crispy fries, and perfectly done broccoli with chile flakes and garlic. It's not for the faint hearted, but we all loved it. The second night we had pizzas, paella, and more tapas. Overall, the food was outstanding and the setting was superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLKlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty, extensive menu”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Liked the choices, something to please anyone, large appetite or small. Loved the baba ganoush (no idea how to spell that) and hummus with local veggies, but was disappointed at the appearance of the plate: pale celery, a bit brown on the ends, pale, rubbery-looking raw zucchini and yellow summer squash, but they TASTED great: crisp, sweet, and fresh. We shared a pasta dish and a couple of types of kabobs: none of us was particularly hungry and we enjoyed sampling. Arriving and being processed was hectic and somewhat intimidating; we were seating on the patio at a definitely off-balance table, which the waitperson set about trying to level with plastic shims which are apparently in constant use. Once we were seated, it was a happy sort of hectic, and the wine pour was generous. Will definitely go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Was good but service was disappointing”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was really looking forward to eating here since we have stayed at the St. Julien many times and heard only good things about this restaurant. It is crowded and busy, we went there on a Monday night with a party of 5. The menu is huge and takes a bit of time to determine if you want a meal or smaller dishes. Our table had a mixture of both. The food was good so I guess my lower rating has more to do with the waitress. Since we were new to the restaurant we did take a bit more time to order and she seemed a bit impatient. Not alot of follow through after dishes to check on us and we had to ask for refills versus being automatic. I guess it just felt very busy and we were more of a number. I can't complain about the food, everyone seemed to enjoy their picks but perhaps a bit more education on the menu early on versus looking annoyed would have made this a better experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing