We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Spend a Late Winter Saturday Afternoon”

The Mediterranean Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mediterranean Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 572 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between 9th St. and 11th St.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Spend a Late Winter Saturday Afternoon”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friends had recommended the Mediterranean and it's appetizer menu. We took that recommendation and drove up to Boulder for an "easy" late winter Saturday afternoon. We were seated quickly and ordered off the appetizer menu. The atmosphere was relaxing and not to busy as we were between the lunch and dinner crowds. The food was great and we will be going back for more. Highly recommend this place for those afternoon "get away" trips which are a necessity for recharging the batteries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    321
    102
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went with a large group to the Mediterranean this week. The night started out bad because, though we arrived a few minutes early for our 7:30 reservation, we were not seated until 8:00. I wouldn't mind waiting if we didn't have a reservation, but it's annoying to wait 30 minutes if you make a reservation. The restaurant apologized and paid for our appetizers, which somewhat made up for it.

Luckily, we ended up having a great time. The food and drinks were great. We ordered a bottle of wine and also cranberry martinis. The cranberry martini was a little bitter, but the bartender graciously added some agave to the drink, which made it delicious.

The table ordered a mix of set dishes and tapas. The salmon set dish was too small for one person, and the steak set dish was a little dry. I would recommend ordering from the tapas menu instead. We enjoyed all the tapas. Particular favorites of the table: the bacon-wrapped dates, the fried polenta, and the brie dip. I thought the falafel balls were too dry, but other people at the table enjoyed them.

The price is a little deceptive for newcomers because the tapas only cost $3-$6 each, but you'll need to order about 4 tapas per person. It adds up. Still, a delicious restaurant with a loud, bustling, hip atmosphere. A good place for a fun night out with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karacherith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Well known for its great food, the "Med" is a restaurant everyone should visit in Boulder. I had lunch there and ordered the eggplant marinara; it was the best I've ever had---very tasty and not mushy. It is a bustling lace, service was great, everyone was friendly. Only wished I lived closer so I could dine there more often

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biking4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice mix of Italian/Spanish and other Mediterranean”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food was decent enough. Tapas was well done with just enough variety and creativity to make it interesting. I had a rib eye steak which was very nicely done. Colleagues had the bevette steak which, to be honest, did not *look* appetizing and they stared longingly at my steak. A bit on the loud and bustling side as well. But that seems to be popular these days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waterloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most Popular in Boulder”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is absolutely perfect. There is something for everyone here and the locals love it. Their tapas menu is enormous and full of bite sized goodies. During happy hour, the price is CHEAP. A full size menu is also available and the dishes are yummy and dependable. Their pizza oven churns out delicious margheritas and other variations of pizza. The service is pretty good. There are a ton of college students working there and not everyone of them knows everything about the menu but I'd hardly make that a black mark on this place. If you're in Boulder, definitely try it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing