We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST not miss this experience”

The Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse
Ranked #1 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Persian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse is nestled against the Rocky Mountain Foothills in Boulder Colorado. Sitting alongside Boulder Creek in Central Park, the Teahouse is considered one of Boulder's most attractive and popular tourist attractions, as well as being a local favorite for great food, tea, and atmosphere. Completely built by hand without the use of any power tools, the Teahouse was constructed in Dushanbe, Tajikistan as a gift to their sister city, Boulder. It was disassembled, crated up, and sent halfway around the world to be rebuilt in Boulder as a symbol of friendship and cultural exploration. The elaborate and creative teahouse now sits as a reminder to the citizens of Boulder to value cultural diversity, global cooperation, and international friendship.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“MUST not miss this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The entire menu looked delicious. Sadly, I was with a group--we could only go at an odd hour so I sampled only desert. "Only" is the wrong word. Ordered the gingerbread and iced house chai. Both were sublime. The chai was spicy and refreshing at the same time. The gingerbread (a huge portion) was served warm with spiced whipped cream. Perfection. I so wish my husband, a gingerbread connoisseur, would have been in heaven.

The ambiance alone is worth the visit. You find yourself transported and begin to politely whisper. The intricate carved and painted woodwork is magnificent. I'm sure it's even more beautiful at night.

Please be smart and plan to enjoy an entire meal--soup to nuts--at the Teahouse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedogColumbia_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    351
    82
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Afternoon drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had cold afternoon drinks outside on the patio next to the Boulder Creek. Nice selection of drinks in a peaceful atmosphere. Menu looks good but did not eat here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelersKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“China in Boulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We met friends here for lunch. We ate outside and enjoyed the water and roses in the garden. The service was fast and the salads were good, I had the Asian chicken salad which had a glazed sauce on the chicken. We took a look inside the tea house and it was beautifully decorated , especially the ceiling. A nice place, mid price for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
890 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Lovely Venue to Visit--- Menu not enticing for me.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well worth a visit to see the teahouse & read about it as a gift from Boulder sister city in Tajikistan, very beautiful interior & exterior by the stream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the teahouse for breakfast while visiting Boulder, and were very excited to try it. It was a very pretty place, and the menu sounded good. However, we were sorely disappointed in our experience and wouldn't go back or recommend. The food was mediocre and high priced. There are MANY other local Boulder restaurants serving up way better food for a better value. Also, the service we received from our waiter was shameful. He was more interested in flirting with the hostess and socializing with the other 15 waitstaff all standing around with thumbs up their butts than servicing our table. My husband ordered french press coffee and got a cup of regular drip. We were never offered preserves or spreads for our biscuits (this is a teahouse, mind you). My parents-in-law never got refills on their iced-teas which were the only refillable thing on the menu. I ordered a side of sausage with my french toast and didn't get it. It was just error after error all because our waiter wasn't giving us the time of day. Then, to finish things off - our waiter never came to pick up the check so we could pay. After a half hour of waiting and watching him stand about 15 feet away and ignore us while he did nothing resembling wait tables, we ended up having to take our check up to pay at the bar. Very disappointing experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelleysezwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse also viewed

 

Been to The Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing