We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, local music venue in Boulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boulder Theater

Boulder Theater
Ranked #27 of 134 things to do in Boulder
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First opened in 1906 as a venue for opera, musical productions and silent movies, this versatile performance center now serves a variety of functions, from meetings and conferences to live theater and concerts.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Cool, local music venue in Boulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was lucky enough to see Ryan Adams at The Boulder Theater and it was amazing. It was truly one of the most memorable concerts of my life. It was an acoustic show without alcohol (unique for the Theater), and I could hear him perfectly. It was a little difficult to see, but that is because I was sitting behind a tall guy and the chairs on the level I was sitting on were all at the same level. The Boulder Theater has a bit of a dingy/old vibe, and the entry-way needs a serious color/design facelift. That said, it is a rock venue and they get some good acts there and it is worth checking out. You also can't miss the art deco design on the outside!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    9
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So..so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Drinks are normal quality, nothing special, food did not impressed me, service always non-existent (or they had a bad day). But the acoustics in the room is quite ok for many event types.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very intimate setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Saw Richard Marx on Nov 18th. The seating is not your typical theater-style seating - more like a banquet room with straight back, padded seats. This is a perfect venue if you want to see and hear the performance. Every seat is a good one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLEY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun and historic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Saw a touring rotation of Second City here in winter 09/10. It was a nice theater with what seemed to be a good variety of acts. Seemed like a gem in the heart of Boulder, which is a gem in the heart of Colorado. Highly recommend the venue and Pearl Street in general.

Helpful?
Thank AMY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't imagine life without it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great music coming through here. I always feel good letting my teenagers go to a show here as they hold the scene well and most shows are for all ages. Separate drinking area and great folks work there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulder Theater also viewed

 

Been to Boulder Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing