We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learnt a lot about tea.”

Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 22 Food & Drink in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how tea is made on a tour that includes a video, a walk through the Celestial Herb Garden, a tour of the tea bag factory and a visit to the aromatic Mint Room.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Learnt a lot about tea.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A unique experience and very interesting, even to 8 and 10 year old children. We tasted various teas while waiting for our tour, then donned our hair nets (and some, beard nets!). We walked through the operating factory and saw the storerooms of tea waiting to be processed. The packing machinery was working, but obviously we could not get too close so a little difficult for the small ones to see what was happening. There is a minimum age of 5 years. Our ticket for the tour was a free sample of 3 speciality tea bags, a great idea. The shop had extensive merchandise, both interesting and appealing. The cafe, however, was a disappointment as it closed at 2.30pm. We had hoped to have tea and cake after our tour, but had to go elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    330
    46
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
370 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“I always go here. So so worth it.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Eat at their... they make an amazing array of home tossed mixes and dressings... cafe and try all the teas at their tea bar. Take the tour. Its so wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tundrachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun free experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not terribly exciting but it was a nice and free way to spend about an hour and half one morning. You get to sample some teas (cold and hot) while you wait for the tour, watch a short movie, and then do a 30 minute walking tour in the factory. It was interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ColletaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tea and more tea”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Celestial is a very unique company: earth friendly, affordable products, and a huge variety of teas. We went on a Saturday tour and would advise that a weekday tour will enable you to see their assembly line in action and to visit their attractive cafe. However, even on a Saturday, we were given a dozen teas to sample. Our tour was memorable, especially the time we spent in the mint room: talk about getting a spearmint high! The tour ends up in their tea shop, which is exceptionally well laid out. The variety of teas is impressive, as well as the imaginative tea serving accessories. The staff is very helpful and absolutely no one pressures you to buy anything. The tour takes about 45 minutes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun free sampling and tour”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went on a weekday so the factory was in full swing. While waiting for the tour to start, we could taste hot and iced tea in a teeny cup. The mint room was heavenly (literally a room full of mint). It was fun to see how the tea was packaged, would have liked to seen each step more up close. Tour guide was very sweet and informative. She kept her calm when one of the visitors was trying to irk her with his superior knowledge of tea. Tour is not very long, but ends in their large gift shop where you can find your favorite tea and accessories. Beware, you do have to wear a hairnet and if you have facial hair... a beard net! It was exciting to visit this factory because it is THE Celestial Seasonings factory. You buy a box of this tea, this is where it was made.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicagoheroine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory also viewed

 

Been to Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing