We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fresh pasta and authentic Italian on pearl”
Review of Pastavino - CLOSED

Pastavino
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th
Description: PASTAVINO is a simple, organic Italian restaurant in Boulder.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh pasta and authentic Italian on pearl”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A new addition to the foodie scene in Boulder. The pasta is fresh and delicious. I recommend the pesto, butternut squash ravioli, ragout, and arribiata. A large place it is good for both business, couples, and large friend groups. One of the easier places to get into on a Friday evening

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    11
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Buzzy Atmosphere But Bland Food”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

When we visit my daughter in Boulder our favourite restuarant is The Med but for a change we decided to book a table at Pastavino on a Saturday night.
When we went in the place looked, sounded, and felt very buzzy, which was a good sign and after a short wait we were shown to our table.
For starters we had a couple of portions of bruschetta which was a bit disappointing as it was rather tasteless.
For a main course my wife and daughter had sea bass, my son-in-law had brodetto di pesce and I had NY steak. We also had a bottle of red wine with our meal.
All I can say is that the main courses were OK without being inspiring as was the tiramisu that we had for dessert.
For a so-called Italian restaurant it talked-the-talk but for us didn't walk-the-walk, it simply didn't deliver on the food front. The food was all rather bland in taste which was a pity because it could, and should, have been far better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok food, when we got it.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we ate here my partner ordered ravioli with truffles only he could not taste the truffles at all. When we asked about it the waitress said they were in the sauce but we could have some more if we wanted. This took ages so he'd finished it when she got there and told him that the chef actually forgot them so there wern't any in there. He did get a new portion which was good so they did solve the problem but we did not get to eat a calm meal together.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love Pastavino. The food is authentic, simple and delicious. I am not a fan of the Olive Garden style Italian food (no offense to anyone who likes that place). I don't like too much cheese or canned tomatoes in my food. At Pastavino you get nothing but the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant also has the most extensive range of gluten free food in town. Prices are reasonable, wine selection is good. Prices for wine are in line with other local restaurants. You do have to pay between $2-$4 for bread, however the bread is really delicious. They have a gluten free bread for $4 as well. There seems to have been a big turnover in staff which has sometimes lead to my friends and I waiting 10 - 15 minutes to get a drink or even get our order in.Sometimes the bar people don't make eye contact, which is frustrating when you are trying to order. I go to the Kitchen a lot, where they are great at making eye contact. Other than that, it's a great place with great potential. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Too Many Other Better Options . . .”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Thought we would give a new joint in town a try on a Saturday night. The location is the remodeled former home of Juanitas, next door to The Kitchen. The decor is OK - the underlit bar is cool, and the one brick wall is attractive. The large white wall sporting what looks like a braille message is not to my taste.

Service was not great. Relatively inattentive. Not terribly experienced. Prices were good - wine list, especially from the Piedmont areas was promising. But the rest of the meal wasn't. Butternut squash soup had little flavor. Carpaccio was pretty good - but no bread/crackers to accompany. We had to separately order bread (which oddly wasn't included with dinner) as the bread sticks on the table seemed kind of lame. Our entrees were simply not good. Lasagna had been heated up (allegedly in the pizza oven not a microwave) so hot, I couldn't take a bite for 5 minutes. Even then it burned my mouth. Once cool, the flavor was awful. My wife had stuffed tortellinis and the stuffing was bland and pasta thick and dry. Austin never checked on us one after the food was delivered. The bill was slow to arrive. Worst of all, when the dinner was served, there was a strong smell at our table of industrial cleaner. Coming from behind the bar? I don't know, but it certainly didn't enhance the already marginal food. Very weird.

With all the great restaurants in town, I don't see giving this one another shot. Made me miss Juanitas.

Bill

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BoulderBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastavino also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing