We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food tastes good but bring a microscope”
Review of Riff's Urban Fare

Riff's Urban Fare
Reserve with OpenTable
Riff's Urban Fare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 577 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 11th st
Transit: RTD and local bus service.
Description: tel 303 440-6699opened recently
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food tastes good but bring a microscope”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

NOTE: Star rating reflects taste of food, not value for money paid.

What You Need To Know:

Menu is a la carte.

Food is admittedly very good but portions are not adequate.

When you look at the menu, it seems like the prices are fairly reasonable. Then the food comes:

I paid $60 for a smaller-than-average salad, an artfully-styled but laughably small entree (the food literally covered only 1/4 of the entire plate), 1/2 bottle of wine, and tip. If that's worth the money to you, then have at it. I won't go here again unless it's for lunch or happy hour. My friend ordered a burger and easily had twice as much food as I did (and for less money than my supposed "entree").

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coguy5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    136
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Happy Hours in town!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great apps and wine which has good price points. Bartenders the best. Rellenos were great this summer, but not on fall menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicoastal
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is a cool place”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

You know how it is. You visit a really cool restaurant while you are traveling, and you MEAN to review it on TripAdvisor right away, but you get caught up in all of the activities of travel and it doesn't happen. But when a great restaurant experience comes back to mind even months after your visit, you realize it clearly warrants review. Such was our experience at Riff's Urban Fare on Pearl Street in Boulder. My husband and I were shopping on Pearl Street last summer when we came upon Riff's. It just had that artsy cool vibe that draws you in. We chose a seat in the very comfy bar, and enjoyed the gorgeous decor and the wit of the bartender while we waited for our lunch to be served. When our food arrived, it was as artistically presented as the bar itself, and we were equally pleased with its flavor and quality. We couldn't resist ordering the peach shortcake for dessert, and it was simply magnificent. If we lived in Boulder, there is no question that we would become regulars at Riff's. We look forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great veggies, busy but not too noisy”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Shared several veggie samplers - cauliflower, brussel sprouts based which were tasty! Salad, salmon entres were great. We had a great time on a busy Friday night. We would come back, for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
640 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Wonderful imaginative dishes”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

On Pearl Street in the heart of Boulder. Great food, fresh ingredients. Jimmy's 6 hour pork shoulder sandwich delicious $9. Open all day. Perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riff's Urban Fare also viewed

 

Been to Riff's Urban Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing