We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Mouth-watering tapas, bursting with flavors, very cozy atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Aion

Cafe Aion
Ranked #183 of 574 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 13th
Transit: There is a RTD Stop 1 Block to the East serving the HOP, SKIP, DASH, AB, B, DD, GS, 203, 204 and the 225.
Description: 5280 magazine top 25 restaurants 2011
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow. Mouth-watering tapas, bursting with flavors, very cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow.

I'm from NYC and I'm in love with Cafe Aion! It's an understated, very cozy tapas restaurant bursting with mouth watering flavors.

I don't know how they make the flat bread, but it's perfectly crispy and smokey on the outside and succulently soft on the inside; perfect for dipping and lapping up the broths in the seafood stew.

Let's talk about the broths...they blew me away. The broth in the mussels dish was smack your lips savory, with intense flavors of saffron, lemon, and chilies. Even more delightful was the broth in the seafood stew, where the house-smoked chorizo with the shellfish broth gave a rich depth of flavor. I think I drank every last drop.

On the meats side, I only had the braised pork shoulder... the meat literally fell off the bone and was soft enough to cut with a fork. It melted in your mouth.

You can't leave without having one of the paella's! The rice is SOO delicious! Perfectly caramelized... soft and juicy on top and charred and crusty on the bottom.

I love that they source a much of the ingredients as possible locally and organically. The bar is hand-made by the owner and there's cloth hand towels in the bathroom to save paper.

Just simply a gem of a place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovebeachsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Food, Expensive Tapas !Buyer Beware!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Cafe Aion several times and the food is wonderful, but last night the Happy Hour menu was not available. We spent $111 for three people. The tapas are outrageously price...$16 for a small duck leg, $15 for a vegetable tangine, $15 for braised octopus that had 2 identifiable pieces buried in garbanzo beans. The wines by the glass were also over the top but fortunately they let us have the happy hour Tempranillo for $ 7, instead of the $14 Tempranillo on the regular menu. We will be back for happy hour, and will never order the tapas off the regular menu again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank honestmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“Best ambience in Boulder, delicious food.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the bar and cozy neighborhood ambience. The food is local, seasonal, delicious and prepared with care. It's hard to choose a favorite because the dishes are constantly changing, but the fried cauliflower and the 3 step chicken wings are to die for. Also the sangria!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wednesday night paella”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I made reservations in Feb for a belated Valentine’s day so we took advantage of the "Wed Night Paella" and happy we did! The paella was incredible, but you may want to order something in addition to the dish - if you are used to a more regular size portion. The wine that Cafe Aion paired with the paella did run out that evening and they substituted with a wine that was equally good, but keep in mind we did not get to pick the "second choice" they chose the wine for us...... Great atmosphere, wonderful/professional service, VERY accommodating! I continue to recommend Cafe Aion to clients and to people who are looking for good paella in the Denver/Boulder area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed a nice easy brunch at Cafe Aion recently. Food is freshly made. Nice egg selections and worth it all just for the doughnut..
cute little patio to sit outside on nice day and evenings.
there is a special paella and bottle of wine evening once a week. We are looking forward to a dinner there. It is on the HIll near the University so best after students are gone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Aion also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Aion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing