We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep not possible”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The Silver Saddle's setting is quite lovely. Our experience, however, was not. At 4:30 in the morning, we were awoken to one of the owner's dogs barking. Loudly. Despite the dog's continued efforts over the next three hours, no one came out to move the dog or quiet it down. When my daughter took a shower in the morning, the exhaust fan in the bathroom made a horrible sound, and then the grate fell off the ceiling. Fortunate that she wasn't standing under it. I would have been okay with the somewhat run-down condition of our unit, had these other things not happened.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveRBoulder_Colo, Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2010

First of all we would like to apologize for the things that did not work out for you during your visit. We do have a nice setting and we work very hard to make everyone’s stay pleasant. I have a full time maintenance man, but we don’t always get problems fixed when they go unreported. We always appreciate it when customers point out things that did not go well, but in this case I don’t remember anything being reported. In cases such as this we often are willing to give customer discounts for problems if they are reported. And the problem gets fixed sooner so it doesn’t annoy the next customer.
As for the barking dogs, we have 4 rescue dogs that my children have brought home. We normally bring them in at night, but on this particular night it appears that did not happen. A simple call to the motel phone number would have remedied the situation immediately. There is always someone available to address problems 24 hours per day. We wish that the motel phone number had been called when you were awakened. Members of our staff are always on site, but not necessarily where they might hear the dogs. It would be preferable to us to remedy the problem immediately with the customer instead of exchanging trip advisor write ups several weeks after the event. We try hard to remedy problems when they occur. This saves customer frustration and allows us to address the problem much sooner. We never like to see customers leave the motel frustrated. Normally we can avoid this when there is adequate communication.

Thanks,
Management…..Silver Saddle Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

At the foot of the mountain lies the Silver Saddle Motel. We personally loved the whole experience. We had been looking for a comfortable motel in Boulder, and found out that the Boulder Mountain Lodge was FULL of drunks, so late in the afternoon we stopped at another motel down the street from the Silver Saddle, in which we found the onwer very rude and unpleasant. Disapointed by the 2 previous motels, we pulled into the Silver Saddle. After reading all the other reviews, I was amazed that the guests could be so cruel. All the horrid that they were describing made the rooms we had stayed in look like total heaven. The bathrooms were clean, the beds and linens were comfy, and the floors were spotless. And to tell you the truth, there are barely any crimes whatsoever in Boulder, but that extra chain that you had to wrap around the door nob, gave a great amount of extra security to our room.There were no bugs, no pealing walls, hell, we didnt even see a single mildew spot or drainage problem. Obviously, the previous guests were overexaggerating! I mean jeez, the Motel's in the midst of the mountains, what do you expect!?! Yes there were a few quirks, but thats just what gives the place its character, and if these quirks were to bother anyone, Dave was quick to fix them. Hes really a great guy and he has put so much effort making our stay comforable, and this is the only place we will ever stay when we visit Boulder.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank soccergurlx73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

The hotel sits in a gorgeous setting- at the foot of the Flagstaff mountains. This was also the reason the hotel staff gave for bugs in the bed. The room had broken down furniture, no smoke detectors, and a chain that you had to loop around the door knob for security. They charged $6.00 extra per person over 2 people- which really adds up on top of the $98.00 a night charge. I have never seen a hotel room more run-down.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Ronedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveRBoulder_Colo, manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2008

The reviews from Kansas need to be responded to in order to gain a little sense of balance. Both these reviews came from a team that stayed with us for only one night. The team was having a hard time finding accommodations since they had waited too long to make their reservations. Without responding individually to each allegation, I can say that they have not portrayed our motel in a truthful manner. There is another team review on our web site guestbook which is very pleasant and should be given equal weight with this unpleasant review. We have thousands of visitors each year and no one else has made the accusations they have. Our cleaning staff works hard and does not leave our rooms with pet odors or dirty socks smells or used coffee in the coffee pots. We would be unable to run a business if our rooms were as they said. The chain locks represent good security in our area of Boulder where there is no crime to speak of. The rooms are all equipped with smoke detectors and we now have a full time carpet cleaning member on our staff who regularly steam cleans the carpets. We do not have bugs in the beds even though we are located near National Forest. No one could run a business this way. Just like any home in the woods, there is the occasional spider or bug. We don’t want to spread bug poison all over the motel grounds to prevent this. We have purchased all new sheets, blankets and bedspreads. Our beds are firm and most people say they are very comfortable. Our price is very competitive for Boulder. People from out of town are not accustomed to the higher prices in Boulder. If our prices don’t meet their needs I would suggest that they shop around a little to find a price within their range. We try very hard to please, but it appears that something more than service prompted this review. We are sorry that things did not turn out better for our friends from Kansas, but we gladly refunded their money when they wanted to leave and wished them well. Apparently they did not feel the same. This is unfortunate, but they represent an extremely small percentage of the normally very satisfied customers that we have. Being full nearly every night in the summer speaks more about our business than a couple of unpleasant year old reviews. We routinely receive very positive reviews on our website Guestbook which would be a good place to look to find out more about our motel. We were the motel of choice for Boulder when the Hollywood Movie “Catch and Release” starring Jennifer Garner was filmed in Boulder and have also had several Warren Miller Ski Videos produced at our motel.

Thanks,
Management,,,,,,,Silver Saddle Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

The Silver Saddle Motel's website shows beautiful serene surroundings. This is the only part of the description that is acurate. The canyon is breathtaking and the creek is a short walk away. The motel, however leaves MUCH to be desired! The place is a complete dump. Our room was dirty upon check in- the carpets were not vaccuumed, and the bathroom had hair in the drain and bugs on the floor. The coffee maker was also full of the previous tenants coffee! The worst part was that the room smelled strongly of pet urine and dirty socks. it was so bad that I went to the store to buy Febreeze and it still didn't get rid of the smell. All of the room's furnishings look like they came from the thrift store. They are stained, worn and outdated. The beds in our room were stiff and uncomfortable and the linens were threadbare and had holes in them. The comforter on the bed smelled foul and had stains on it. The bathroom was disgusting. Paint was peeling off the walls and the shower was stained and full of mildew and mold. My daugther wore her flip flops in the shower because she refused to let her feet touch the floor.
We checked out after one night because we could not stand to stay in this place one more day. it was ruining our trip. I would not stay in this hotel again if it was the last place on earth. I'd sleep in my car first! And all this for $106 a night!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jbranstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

I stayed at this motel for an extended weekend. I was in Boulder for a business meeting and I wanted to be as close as possible to Eldora to go skiing on the weekend. Silver Saddle seemed the best choice, being the last motel in Boulder on the road that goes to Eldora. It was cheap, well below the rates my company would pay for hotels, so I got them to pay for my entire stay, which, needless to say, worked out to my advantage. I was satisfied with the room, it had TV, a fridge, a microwave and a clean bathroom. I would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Florinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NC
14
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed in this hotel during our trip to Colorado because we were on a budget and could find no other rooms available in our price range. The decor in the room looked liked it had been there since my birth in the early 70's. Overall, the room was fairly clean with some scattered trash under the bed. Security in the room was a chain that looped around the door handle. When we attempted to check out the next morning, no one would answer the door and when we called later to relay to the owner where we left the key, we woke him up (it was 9:30!!!). Overall, an okay place to stay, but when we had the opportunity to re-visit Boulder, we stayed far away from the Silver Saddle!!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2005

While this motel's location lives up to its description, the property itself leaves much to be desired. The unit I stayed in was NOT clean and was sadly in need of repairs and decorating. The motel's advertising suggests a quiet, rustic setting but one which we discovered was overpriced and overstated. My concerns could be put into two categories: aesthetics and safety. With regard to the general look of the property, the "carport" was partially filled with refuse including several discarded armchairs, old bed frames, lattice fencing, a ladder, lumber and garbage. (see picture). All of the bathroom fixtures were cracked and/or chipped. The shower enclosure was very small and had a layer of black mold along the bottom. (see picture) The door had a fist-sized depression at eye level and peeling veneer along the bottom edge. The closet had one sliding door hinged only on the top (but not on the bottom), and to get into the closet, you had to close the bathroom door first. You could only access one side of the closet at a time because of this sliding partition (door). The room was so small that only person could be standing and walking at the same time. The sheets were threadbare and had holes in them. They were not changed even once during the 3 days I was there. The overhead light fixture was one bare bulb, (see picture), the windows were dirty and covered with bug debris, the linoleum in the bathroom was peeling, and there were old magazines and candy wrappers under the bed. If you closed the door with anything more than a gentle touch, the window flew open. The door did have a lock but there wasn't a security latch. We improvised and wedged a can opener through a hasp. (see picture) There was a coffee pot in the room but you were required to go to the office each day and ask for supplies. We were given just one filter and one bag of coffee. Now the safety concerns: the cord for the air conditioning unit AND the cord of the refrigerator ran underneath the air conditioning unit but just above the sink (over water!). There was one outlet in the kitchenette and plugged into that was a power strip that was left dangling in the air into which ALL of the appliances were plugged. The outlet was ungrounded and the grounding plug on the power strip was broken off. None of the appliances could therefore be grounded. There were no fire extinguishers in the kitchenette. There was one more outlet in the sleeping area of the room but it was hidden behind the bed. The heating unit was rusty and very used looking and got so hot when it turned on that it made the handle of our suitcase too hot to touch. (see picture). How much more can I say...plenty..and all this for the bargain price of $80.00/day!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sjans2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#10 of 23 in Boulder
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
960 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
1.1 mi away
Boulder University Inn
Boulder University Inn
#7 of 23 in Boulder
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 90 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302-5817
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of Boulder Creek at the base of Flagstaff Mountain. Surrounded on three sides by mountains, yet only 12 blocks from downtown Boulder. Walk to downtown along a hiking trail that parallels Boulder Creek. Plenty of good hiking and fishing nearby. Within 14 blocks of the University of Colorado. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing