We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, close to CU - didnt like restaurant”
Review of Boulder Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulder Marriott
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter will be going to CU in the fall so we are trying out various hotels in the area. The hotel is tucked away in the corner of a strip mall. Parking is in a garage which was fine but we did have an issue one night not having a parking spot because of guests who attended a wedding were parking in the garage. The room was clean and beds were fairly comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel JW was customer oriented but food was not great at all for the price. The caesar salad I had was aweful and I did return it and got a sandwich which was just okay. We didnt eat there again. They have a "Starbucks" but the coffee was not the same caliber as what you would expect from a regular Starbucks. The young woman who was working it was quite slow and getting food required her leaving the stand to go make it in the back. There were lines every morning and again, very slow and the coffee was not great. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. They had flavored water and water bottles out most days which was nice with apples. It was quite costly for the room so I think we will try other options next time plus no free breakfast like we have had at the Residence Inn in town.

Room Tip: Costly, very close to CU, underground parking, poor restaurant, no complimentary breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderMarriott, Manager at Boulder Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Congratulations on your daughter's arrival to CU this fall! Please know our Executive Chef has reviewed your specific feedback with regards to your Food & Beverage experience. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and a great product throughout our entire operation. Your feedback is valuable and will allow us to make sure we are delivering on the promise of a world class experience. Thank you again for your business and loyalty to Marriott.

Sincerely,

Team Boulder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We traveled to the Boulder Marriott as a family of four. Two adults, two children ages 7 and 9. We booked a Queen Bedded room that was very spacious and also offered a fridge, desk area, table and chairs which worked perfect for our breakfast. The bathroom also offers ample space for toiletries. There was enough drawer space to unpack our luggage and use the furniture as well.
Pool: Pool is indoor, decent size and also offers a full size hot tub. There were always towels and chairs available.
Gym: Gym is located beside the pool offering an array of workout equipment, kept clean and never crowded.
Location of Hotel: Boulder Marriott is central, a longer walk than a couple of the other Pearl Street hotels, but easy to do and also public parking decks make it easy in Boulder should you choose to drive. There is a farmers market style grocery right next door to Marriott, should you decide to purchase milk, cereal, etc. There are also a handful of restaurants directly behind the Marriott. There is Larkburger (delicious), Pizza (also delicious) and a cuban restaurant. Also, there is a La Peep breakfast restaurant right next door to the Boulder Marriott.
The hotel staff was wonderful, answered any question we had, brought us extra pillows and were very responsive.
Would stay at this location again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeysaboundtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was very nice. My room was clean, well appointed and comfortable on the 4th floor. The staff in general was very helpful and polite, however, two of the front desk people could be a bit snippy as I witnessed in dealings with other guests (one male and one female). This hotel is WALKING distance from many restaurants, and shops including a liquor store with a nice selection of whiskey & beer (several local craft beer and distilleries on display). We had a late dinner in the J.W. restaurant on the first night there and our food and service were very good (Val was an excellent server). If I return to the Denver / Boulder area, this place is high on my list.

Room Tip: high floors have amazing views of the Rockies & Flat Irons, many great restaurants and shops in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OperaDovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Boulder Marriott for 3 nights to attend a wedding. On the positive side, the room was clean and the people friendly. Nevertheless, I did not feel we got good value for the price we paid. We had to pay extra or do without for things that would have been free at a less expensive hotel. A few examples: (a) We had to pay $12/night for marking. (b) In order to connect both my wife's and my laptops, we wound up paying $25 (!) per day. This was a complete ripoff. In their defense, when I complained, they refunded this. (c) The room contained neither a refrigerator nor a microwave. (d) There was no free breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderMarriott, Director of Sales at Boulder Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Boulder Marriott. I understand your frustrations when it came to paying a fee for parking and internet. We are in a high traffic area and we hope our guests enjoy the convenience and comfort of our covered parking garage. As for the internet fee, it is a Marriott standard to charge a fee for its full service properties. With that being said, I can still understand how this would have been frustrating. The full service model differs from a select service property and this is the reason that we do not include breakfast. The amenity of a full service restaurant and having room service available is what separates the different types of hotels. If a complimentary breakfast is important to you, we do have other Marriott properties (i.e. Residence Inns) in the area that do offer a complimentary breakfast with your stay. I hope that you understand that we value you as a guest and hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Boulder Marriott Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Really a disappointment and expensive to boot. They charge for wifi and the system allowed a hacker to infiltrate my husband's computer. To its credit the room was clean but we will never return. No complimentary coffee or breakfast, phone was broken.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Vermontwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderMarriott, Director of Sales at Boulder Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We appreciate you feedback regarding your recent stay at the Boulder Marriott. I am sorry to hear about the Wi-Fi issues that you experienced during your stay. We take claims of this nature very seriously and will contact our provider to ensure it is corrected. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

The Boulder Marriott Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. It is clean and relatively quiet; the staff is courteous. So what's the problem? Well, $12.95/day for internet. $12.95/day to park your car. Why is it inexpensive hotels provide free internet and expensive one nickel and dime you to death? I can appreciate the need for hotel security but you can't take a stairway to go up or down. The elevators are slow. It makes getting in and out very painful.

Sorry I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrpiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderMarriott, Director of Sales at Boulder Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I do apologize that our parking charge and Internet fee were frustrating for you and I can understand your feelings on that. We are in a high traffic area and do hope that our guests value the convenience and comfort of our parking garage. As for the internet, It is Marriott brand standard to charge a fee but as mentioned, I completely understand how that frustrated you. Lastly, the stairwells are available for our guests to use; we will take a look at our signage to be sure that this clear. We hope you understand that we appreciate your business and would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

The Boulder Marriott Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I normally save ratings of 5 for really exceptional hotels or restaurants, but the service we received here really put this at a 5 for us, even if there weren't the extravagances you might find at a 5* in New York.

Dean checked us in and we told him about our previous, sleepless night in Atlanta. He bumped us up to a suite so we could get a good night's rest and also recommended a great restaurant for dinner.

Hotel is in a great location and very close to a couple of nice morning places (Flatiron Coffee and Great Harvest Bread). The hotel is a pretty good walk to the Pearl Street, and just a couple of blocks from the Boulder Creek Path.

Typical of Marriott, the beds are wonderful, and the hotel boasts views of both the flatirons and the canyon, so you really can't lose where ever they put you.

Again, the staff was outstanding and completely outdid themselves in making our stay the best night on our trip.

Couldn't have been a better stay. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fchnjyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.2 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boulder
Courtyard Boulder
#10 of 23 in Boulder
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Marriott

Address: 2660 Canyon Blvd, Boulder, CO 80302-6748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range: $156 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulder Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, the Marriott Boulder is the perfect Boulder hotel for any type of traveler. Within walking distance of the University of Colorado and downtown's diverse collection of galleries, shops and restaurants, the Marriott Boulder boasts 157 boutique-style guest rooms with a recently renovated lobby and restaurant/bar area! On-site, the Marriott Boulder offers dining in Canyons Restaurant and Bar, and just minutes from the city's diverse dining scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulder Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Marriott Hotel Boulder
Marriott Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing