We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pho in a modern setting”
Review of Black Pepper Pho

Black Pepper Pho
Ranked #245 of 573 Restaurants in Boulder
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Description: near starbucks and wahoo fish taco in a strip shopping center
Restaurant details
Description: near starbucks and wahoo fish taco in a strip shopping center
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pho in a modern setting”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great place to introduce your friends to pho, without the sometimes intimidating atmosphere of the traditional places in Broomfield. Fragrant, flavorful pho, with a seldom found vegetarian option. Good selection of meat choices, although not the variety found at more traditional places. Although not indicated on the menu, the small size is more than enough for me. Comes with a nice selection of fresh add-ins like bean sprouts, basil, jalapeno. Bun (noodle bowls) are equally tasty. Offers a nice selection of beverages. Not as inexpensive as the authentic places.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sad7288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian pho”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The service was fast and friendly. Nice outdoor seating area with mountain view. The food was very fresh. vegetarian options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doerflerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of Time and Money”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have eaten in numerous Pho/Vietnamese restaurants. This one had a nice atmosphere and was clean, but the food was woeful. Our starter of shrimp rolls contained rice sticks and bean shoots but the shrimp was missing. If there was any shrimp it was microscopic. My "dinner" salad ( as described in the menu) consisted of few scrambled salad leaves and bean shoots topped with a few strips of beef. The accompanying sauce was tasteless. While this was dinner salad not a rice bowl, the vegetables, beef and sauce compared very poorly with the traditional Vietnamese rice bowls. My wife ordered a tofu salad which was the size of a starter and had a few salad leaves and bean shoots with very small portions of tofu. When the waiter inquired if we enjoyed our meal, we told him quite clearly that we did not. He went away without even asking what was wrong. It was altogether a dismal dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakshman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Phogettaboutit”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pho is one of my food passions, so I'm constantly seeking out new places to try, and very happy that the dish is getting very popular, so there are many options. Black Pepper is in a strip center in central Boulder. Really nice interior and good outdoor seating area. Service efficient. The pho, however, was the worst I have had anywhere. I will spare any snarky descriptions and just say it was utterly bland, and needs a great deal of work to even get to average - it's all about the broth, which in this case was closer to bathwater than a good product. There are other choices in the area, including a good spot in Longmont called Saigon Express.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthursioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pho is very good! Atmosphere lacking.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The pretty lights drew me in. The pho warmed my insides. But I couldn't get past the dollar store art on the walls. No personality. Probably will still eat my pho at chez thuy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antunovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Pepper Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing