We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite spot for 40 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldorado Canyon

Eldorado Canyon
Ranked #7 of 134 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favorite spot for 40 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Eldorado Canyon is a good place for locals, to enjoy a family picnic or hike. When we first came to Boulder (1975) we actually camped next to the river, though it's not possible now. It is pleasant and hasn't been changed much by many visitors. Years ago when my children were young, we loved going there to swim and play. You can watch many intrepid rock climbers (or climb, yourself), or just get your feet wet in the roaring stream. Long ago, I took Hmong refugee children there, and they caught fish from the fast-flowing stream with only their bare hands!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oishii13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    65
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place to watch rock climbing near Boulder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Eldorado Canyon State Park is gorgeous. There is an $8.00 day-use vehicle pass. It is very busy on warm summer days, so be prepared to park far away from where you are going to picnic. We hiked from the entry point near Eldorado Springs to the visitor center and it was fine for us, but if you have coolers, etc. it is not close. We saw a lot of very hot, tired folks with far too much stuff with them hiking up the hill. It was a loud picnic area, and very full of families hanging out in the creek. It was more like a city park than a nature experience on a hot summer weekend, but it was very nice. Tip: bring water, sunscreen, layers, your own food and pack your trash out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and hikes for all levels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hiking for almost any level - casual stroll to strenuous rocks. Talk to the knowledgeable rangers to get tips. It's great fun just to watch the rock climbers scaling these awesome peaks. Also good picnic grounds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice views, gorgeous drive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Not as much here to do as we expected. Probably because we're not climbers or heavy duty hikers. If you are, put this place on your "to-do" list.

Helpful?
Thank Bradbhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hang On!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Whether you enjoy being a specator to adventure or an experienced trained mountain climber, Eldorado Canyon is the place to go!! The canyon is a widely known world class climbing area as these "human" mountain goats make their way up the treacherous vertical sides of the canyon. How do they do that?!

Bring your camera, binoculars, and a picnic lunch and enjoy the incredible beauty of this place. It's just a very short drive from Boulder, CO.

Helpful?
Thank Merry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldorado Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Eldorado Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing