We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hiking and amazing rock formations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eldorado Canyon

Eldorado Canyon
Ranked #7 of 134 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berthoud
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hiking and amazing rock formations”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Don't miss this gem. There are several trails and views are amazing and they have an excellent visitor center. Be sure to bring water for your hike. When you are done you can enjoy a picnic while cooling your feet in the river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank COLOHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    66
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
182 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is definitely a favorite place of ours to go. It's close to the city, yet you feel like you're in the wilderness. The river flowing through the park makes for some dramatic scenery. It's fun to stop and watch the rock climbers and the hiking has a variety of short/long trails. Great place for an afternoon picnic!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, Except for the bear encounters”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I used to come hear to hike with my dog off-leash all the time when I lived in Denver. Went there for the first time in like 2 years yesterday and had a very close call with black bears at the Mesa Trailhead.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TLCJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
479 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great weekend day trip most any time of the year. Good to take your kids as well as visitors. Definitely put it on your list of places to see.

Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite place to be”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I am lucky enough to live here in Boulder and hike here 3-4 times a week. The beauty and serenity are sure to add years to my life! Please come and visit, you won't be disappointed. One hint, rattlesnake gulch is listed as a medium level hike. I think it is a bit harder than that, especially if you are visiting from sea level. Don't hesitate to take a more level route because there are no bad hikes here. See you on the trails!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldorado Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Eldorado Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing