We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum Green chili!”

Agave Mexico Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Agave Mexico Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #375 of 572 Restaurants in Boulder
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Yum Green chili!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent green chili! Great lunch special $10 to try 3 items. Bring your appetite portions are large. Great guacamole, nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivanarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I wish the food were as good as the ambiance. But it's just not. I had carnitas that came in a little bowl - just gray hunks of not-so-tender pork with a little side container of red sauce. Blah.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EBS33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Truly a Wonderful Mexican Food Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food is fantastic. The drinks will hit you right where you want them too. And the price is right for a weekday dinner with friends. The staff makes the salsa and guacamole right at the table and make them to order. Way cool. The drinks are terrific in taste and kick, just what you want. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have eaten at Agave Mexico Bistro in Boulder on several occasions and have always been amazed by the interesting presentation and flavors of the food. This is not a Tex Mex style restaurant. The tomatillo and mole sauces are delicious and a welcome change from the typical Mexican red sauce and green chili. The Molcajetes are filled with interesting items: nopale, link chorizo,, etc.and once again, the sauces in these dishes are delicious. The fundido appetizer (flamed cheese) served with diced poblanos and chorizo is very tasty and fun to eat. Agave serves a large variety of margaritas - something for every palate and taste.
The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has several dining areas. The service is good and the staff are very friendly. Give this restaurant a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inappropriate 18% tip forced on party of 2”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Two of us went in for dinner to go and the waiter added 18% gratuity to the bill and would not let us leave until we paid it. We felt the service did not warrant 18% and its our discretion for a party of 2 to decide what to tip. We told the waiter this and he did not agree and brought his manager to the discussion and she backed him up. That was absurd! They would not let us leave until we paid it and threatened that if we did not pay the full tip that we would be doing an illegal act and since this was not worth waiting for police or becoming a larger issue, we paid the 18% tip in full and opted to tell our community about what had transpired. The food may be fine, but their service is horrible and their policies are unacceptable. We will not be back, EVER! And by the way, the menu is way overpriced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Mexico Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Agave Mexico Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing