We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #157 of 565 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food is different -- not your typical Tex-Mex dishes. I had the avocado enchiladas (which also include artichokes), and they were very good. The portions are small for the price but I did not leave hungry. Try their desserts -- we shared the Mexican Brownie (with pecans and walnuts on a sizzling skillet with Mexican Brandy Butter and cinnamon ice cream) and it was scrumptious. This is not a cheap restaurant but the food was good and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RandiGAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Over all, it is a fairly nice place. The food is above average, with smaller portions, and the margs are very good. They have a nice outdoor patio on the 29th street mall. On most afternoons\evenings it is a great place to have a drink and watch the people go by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice restaurant, good ambience - though, like most restaurants, it can get rather noisy when full - and delicious, if unoriginal, food. Everything is well-prepared, using quality components. But the highlight for me is the margaritas, which are probably the best in town. The fresh lime juice is consistently splendid, and the drinks are properly and generously mixed. Nice stop before or after a movie.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty with smaller portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Good quality food but over priced. Smaller portions which was nice. Nice atmosphere. Service was fine. Great smoked salsa.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gsmithok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good dinner, nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been here many times. I go to Boulder for business 9 to 10 times a year and hit this restaurant at least twice a year. This is usually a good go to restaurant to eat and quiet enough to be able to discuss business (and has some space for groups). Food isn't bad and much better than the chain mexican restaurants. There are the typical selections of enchiladas, steak, chicken and seafood. So a decent amount of options. The frozen drinks are good but a little pricey, my recollection is that they have some kind of happy hour on certain drinks.

I don't have anything bad to say about this place, however it doesn't wow me. If you are looking for mexican type fare, a fairly quiet place to eat and a good location I do recommend this. Dessert was good and a decent selection of apple crisp, brownie and flan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madigan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing