We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning! You can't bring your dog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Street Mall

Pearl Street Mall
Ranked #3 of 134 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of an energetic city is beautiful, historic Downtown Boulder. At the heart of Downtown Boulder is the Pearl Street Mall, a wonderfully charismatic four-block-long pedestrian mall that celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2007. Colorful, bright flowers fill the mall almost the entire year and street performers, with a multitude of talents, make the Pearl Street Mall one of the best people-watching destinations anywhere.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warning! You can't bring your dog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were traveling with our little dog in the Denver area and decided to go to Boulder for the day. We wanted to do something low-key that day so we went to the Pearl St Mall. But dogs aren't allowed! I was carrying my little guy and was approached by a very nice cop who politely informed us that dogs weren't allowed in the mall. He told us that we could head one street east where there are still nice shops and restaurants. Like I said, he was nice, he was scratching my dog's chin while talking to us!
We did as he suggested and had a pleasant time, we browsed some nice shops and ended up eating at the Bohemian Biergarten, sitting outside with the dog. Overall, a very pleasant day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank vchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    594
    140
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Would love to have spent more time here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went here with my brother, wife, and little kid. It was so nice being able to stroll around at our own pace. Street performers were everywhere hawking their talents for a few bucks....I had to oblige to a few but a few others did seem like bums.

Nice cafes/bars and shops to peruse...scored a vintage college basketball jersey from a consignment shop. There is also a toy store (can't remember the name) that is a must-do for kids and adults alike.

One of the microbreweries there sells flights of 2oz beers....if you are looking for a great sampler be sure to check it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outdoor Mall Tourist Destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a nice place to walk around, people watch, listen to experimental music, watch college students enjoy life, and eat good food. The shopping is mostly expensive upscale or independent stores. It is very much like the shopping district in St Augustine FL.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doerflerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Hills, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a tourist mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the Boulder equivalent of Chicago's Navy Pier. As a tourist, you HAVE to go, of course, but there's nothing exceptional here. I suspect the locals endure it on occasion (as Chicagoans endure Navy Pier) because it's not particularly bad, it's just not particularly great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“First-class mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Pearl Street Mall in Boulder is full of beauty, with a variety of art and craft stores, restaurants, and street entertainment in the summer. It's a relaxing open-air pedestrian mall, so you can stroll along for two or three blocks, window-gazing, stopping for refreshment, or just admiring the displays in the flowerbeds. The sun is usually shining, and there's even a little sculpture playground for kids. Because this is Boulder, the mall is now smoke-free. My favorite stops are The Boulder Bookstore and The Rocky Mountain Chocolate factory. Consider this place a must for anyone visiting Boulder

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Street Mall also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Street Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing