We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foot of the Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foot of the Mountain Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Near downtown Boulder, the least expensive lodging you'll find.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and well maintained. On a quiet side street. Pleasant owners.
Located just across the street from a nice city park and the Boulder Creek path - great connector to the Pearl St area, or for jogging/biking. Beautiful area.
Will definitely return for future visits to Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed-dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
48
89
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were passing thru Boulder on a cross country trip on 8/22/11. We were looking for reasonable accommodations near town. This hotel was rustic but comfortable. We were a little concerned because of no AC in August but we opened the windows and the breeze was wonderful. We were close to downtown so the location was perfect. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. We needed a late checkout because of a flat tire but this was not a problem. The manager was very understanding and did not make us feel pressured at all. The continental breakfast was good. Great coffee and fresh fruit. If we are lucky enough to go back to Boulder we would stay at the Foot of the Mountain Motel. We would love to see it in the winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nghri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were in Boulder to see Jonny Lang and for an engagement trip. All was wonderful. The staff was incredible. Thanks for the tips about Boulder from Mark, and Bridgett was wonderful in sharing our engagement moment. Thanks so much for the card and well wishes. We will be back. Probably bring our parents out. Thanks again from your new friends from Nebraska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very nice place in Boulder - off the beaten path and extremely quiet. Great for our famioly, in particular, as the canyon/park across the street has a wonderful playground and a fantastic cycling/walk path that follows the creek all the way downtown - beautiful!
The hotel staff is great - and "on the ball" when it comes to service. Impeccable!. My only complaint comes out of my own decision...we would have chosen a regular room over the Hideaway suite:for the price, it didn't excel in comfort. Plus, our "neighbor" was a chain smoker who woke us up numerous times throughout the night with his hacking on our "shared" porch - NOT the hotel's fault, certainly. All in all a wonderful, if not 100% comfortable stay. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Ordinarily this motel would be a decent value in a great location in Boulder. The rooms are basic but fine, and the folks at the desk were pleasant and helpful.

However, in my stay in room 16, I was eaten alive by bedbugs. I caught them in the act on the last of my 3 nights and had over 75 bites on my hands, arms and torso. I wrote to the motel on returning home, but they have not replied. Now I can only hope I didn't bring their bugs home with me.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank PhinneyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomm, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Tracking the traveling habits of guests and all the variables associated with traveling is difficult. Any indication of any situation is treated immediately. We treated the room extensively after this guest checked out, not knowing if the guest brought this with them or not. We cannot fix what was not broken. There was no indication prior to this guest of any problems. We did respond to this guest and credited him for his stay. We have had guests stay at our motel for over 80 years. That's not irresponsible business practices that's American pride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for a week while on vacation in Boulder. I will be back to visit Boulder again and I will definitely stay at Foot of the Mountain again. As other reviewers have said, if you are looking for super fancy with lots of amenities then look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with tons of character and charm, then look no further. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for us. Easy (15 min or so) walk along Boulder Creek to Pearl Street. The route of the path has changed slightly and it doesn't pass the library anymore, but it's still a beautiful walk. Lolita's on Pearl Street is a great market and is open 24 hours. We got breakfast and coffee at Lolita's most mornings instead of the coffee in the hotel office. As other reviewers have said, the walls in the room are not completely soundproof, but the other people staying there all seemed to be very considerate and we were not bothered by any noise. Really enjoyed watching the deer and other wildlife right behind the hotel. There was a small refrigerator in the room which was handy. Wi-fi is available and worked fine, although it seemed to be off between 11 pm and 7 am (when the office is closed). Bring your own hair dryer and shampoo...hotel doesn't provide these. Hotel doesn't have a/c...this may be a factor in July or August, but we were fine during our visit in May. All in all, a great place to stay and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudFan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reconkat, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We are so happy this guest enjoyed their stay. Our Wi-fi is not shut down at any point by us, although we did find that there was 'interference' of some sort during a 2 week period of time...very unusual and we couldn't locate the source. It did, however, suddenly go away (?). We also have 'loaner' items in the office such as: hairdryers, iron & board, dishes, silverware, some coffee pots, hotwater pots, table cloths for the picnic tables, etc. Just ask and we will see what we can do. Being a 'Mom & Pop' type place, we will be happy to assist in any way, within our means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

OK, this isn't the Ritz. It's cabins with simple bathroom, lots of hot water, comfortable beds and the greatest staff in the world. Check out their web site to get an idea of the accomodations; they are rustic but comfortable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graciousgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#5 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#15 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#8 of 19 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foot of the Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Property: Foot of the Mountain Motel
Address: 200 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302-5821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Foot of the Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming property, carefully preserved since the 1930's, and tucked at the base of Flagstaff Mountain, the Foot of the Mountain Motel represents the best of Boulder - personality, friendly service and fabulous views. This unexpected gem allows you to live like a local and enjoy city amenities as well as access to nature just steps from your door. As a guest at the Foot of the Mountain, you're biggest decision will be whether to walk the few blocks to Pearl Street or to cross the bridge over Boulder Creek for world-class hiking. At the Foot of the Mountain Motel...Let time stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Foot of the Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing