We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to visit”

Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art
Ranked #5 of 144 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 65 years, Leanin' Tree has been spreading smiles across America with our unique greeting cards. We are also home to one of the best private collections of Western and wildlife art, including a stunning outdoor sculpture garden. Come join us for FREE production tours to see how greeting cards are made, or enjoy the artwork at your own pace. Our gift shop features discounted greeting cards, beautiful art reproductions, unique gifts (many made right here in Colorado!), as well as a year round Christmas room.
Penonome, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have mail ordered my Christmas cards from here for about 35 years but this was my first visit. Many outdoor sculptures, some of which can be climbed on for pictures. Many wonderful western pictures on display on two floors. Very extensive gift shop with all their available cards (and there are a bunch), other souvenirs, and many large prints of some of the pictures on display, of course not the ones I really wanted but I did buy some. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    80
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont CO
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Free Art/Sculpture tours/Discounted Greeting Cards”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

For great Western art when you've spent all your money on Pearl Street (Boulder), visit this museum in North Boulder (Gunbarrel)! Enjoy the hands on outdoor sculpture garden and don't forget to sit on the donkey! Bask in the indoor cool while viewing 2 floors of western art and sculptures at their finest. Complete your visit with a stop at the greeting card shop on the ground floor and purchase the latest Leanin' Tree cards and gifts (cards are always discounted from retail pricing here!)...A great way to spend a few hours for next to nothing!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The sculpture garden is fabulous and I really enjoyed the whimsical cowboy & western art inside (especially bronze statues). A "must" if you enjoy the cowboy culture. It's just a few minutes from the Celestial Seasonings facility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bronzed westerns”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The outside garden featuring many bronzed statues depicting the American West was very artful, especially "Ironfire"...that is
true art!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank emptynesterBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic art- not all western”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great from start to finish- enter through the bronze statue garden. Amazing paintings. Enjoy going often. Have a great gift card selection plus a few other things. Would highly recommend and is just a short distance from the Celestial Tea Factory so could do both at the same time. Length of time depends on how long you spend viewing the art.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaMattusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing