We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bronzed westerns”

Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art
Ranked #6 of 139 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 65 years, Leanin' Tree has been spreading smiles across America with our unique greeting cards. We are also home to one of the best private collections of Western and wildlife art, including a stunning outdoor sculpture garden. Come join us for FREE production tours to see how greeting cards are made, or enjoy the artwork at your own pace. Our gift shop features discounted greeting cards, beautiful art reproductions, unique gifts (many made right here in Colorado!), as well as a year round Christmas room.
boston, ma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bronzed westerns”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The outside garden featuring many bronzed statues depicting the American West was very artful, especially "Ironfire"...that is
true art!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank emptynesterBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    79
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic art- not all western”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great from start to finish- enter through the bronze statue garden. Amazing paintings. Enjoy going often. Have a great gift card selection plus a few other things. Would highly recommend and is just a short distance from the Celestial Tea Factory so could do both at the same time. Length of time depends on how long you spend viewing the art.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaMattusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent western art”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The 250 pictures and 150 sculptures are very good. The outdoor sculptures are an excellent introduction. The fact that this is a free service of a commercial entity is extraordinary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Stamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U S A
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful Statues and Art!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was truely a wonderful stop on our vacation. My daughter really enjoyed the 2 story art gallery and we were given our choice of a free card on the way out. The statue garden was beautiful with seating under the trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank averyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Art, and Not Necessarily Western”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have nothing but superlatives for the Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art.

The paintings are well thought out and expressed. Many are photographic in quality, the capture of nature exquisite. One wall contains portraits of Amerindians that are lovingly painted--I'm not sure whether I like these the best or the scenic paintings.

Although there is no entrance fee, it is well worth it to put some cash into their donation jar, and they have books available with photos of the paintings, a worthwhile memento of your visit if you happen to live too far away for regular visits.

I will add that their statuary is also of the highest order.

We mustn't forget their greeting cards: scenic ones are good, but the humorous ones are the best.

A great place to visit, guys and gals. We go at least once a year, and preferable two to three times.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art also viewed

 

Been to Leanin' Tree Museum of Western Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing