We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Boulder
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude manager”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We recently stayed here for several days when visiting Boulder with friends. The location was very nice. Our cabin was nice but our friends' cabin was in need of some repairs and updates. What was surprising was that the front office staff was rather cold. They always gave the impression that they were annoyed that customers were bothering them. The manager, Bert, was extremely rude. We were directed to speak to him about a problem. Mr. F was extremely impatient and rude and made it clear that he was unhappy to have to waste his time on us.

  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mike1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. Please accept my apologies for the rude service you received during your stay. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. I am truly ashamed and embarrassed that you were treated this way. I can assure you that when you return to Colorado Chautauqua, you will have a completely different experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    31
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
44
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at Chautauqua Colorado cottages for a girls getaway weekend. We stayed in cottage #6. It was everything we could have wanted it to be. It had been updated with new appliances, comfy bedding and the heat worked beautifully. I say this because the cottage retains the appearance of something built in the early 1900s, yet was very comfortable. The view out the back screened in porch was beautiful. We saw a family of deer the morning we left. The cottage was only a 5 minute drive into Boulder, we could have walked it comfortably if it had been warmer. There are great trails on the property too. It was a wonderful trip and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing break from a hectic pace. (There are no televisions or phones, but there is wireless internet available.)

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed at the Chautauqua in July and it was delightful. Simple and spotlessly clean, the cottage we had easily slept five of us in two bedrooms and a pullout for $165 a night! The kitchen made it possible to fix dinner each night (we strongly recommend buying meals ready to cook from The Organic Dish) and have bagels for breakfast. If you'd rather eat at the near by Dining Room, the food there was great value and fabulous. We walked into Boulder, went to concerts on the grounds and hiked on all the adjacent trails. No t.v. but we prefer that. Wireless is available a few hours a day or can be purchased for the whole day.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ramrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Colorado Chautauqua Lodging, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 23 in Boulder
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 23 in Boulder
938 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boulder / Pearl Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Boulder Inn
1.4 mi away
Basecamp Boulder
Basecamp Boulder
#12 of 23 in Boulder
153 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Chautauqua Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Chautauqua Lodging

Property: Colorado Chautauqua Lodging
Address: 900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302-7547 (Formerly Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colorado Chautauqua Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colorado Chautauqua National Historic Landmark sets itself apart from other Boulder, Colorado destinations as an oasis of respite, rejuvenation and enlightenment – offering inspired views of the Flatirons, front door access to Boulder’s famous hiking trails, onsite cultural programming, tranquil accommodations and soul-nourishing cuisine at the Dining Hall. Choose from Missions House Lodge, Columbine Lodge and 58 cottages to meet your accommodation needs. Cottages are available in studio, 1, 2 or 3 bedroom configurations, each with fully equipped kitchens and screened-in front porches. All accommodations are smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Colorado Chautauqua Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Cottages Hotel Boulder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing